Lancaster St Mary, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Lancaster St Mary, Lancashire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. Here is a Comprehensive List of Chapelries for Lancaster.

Lancaster St Mary, Lancashire
Lancaster Priory and Castle Lancashire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Amounderness; Lonsdale; West Derby
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Lancaster PLU
Registration District Garstang; Lancaster; Preston
Records begin
Parish registers: 1599
Bishop's Transcripts: 1675
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Amounderness
Diocese Manchester
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Amounderness
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

LANCASTER (St. Mary), a parish, comprising the borough, port, and markettown of Lancaster, having separate jurisdiction, partly in the hundred of Lonsdale south of the Sands, and partly in that of Amounderness, N. division of the county of Lancaster. Other places in the parish include: Hays Haw Fell, Hawthornthwaite Vaschery, Heaton with Oxcliffe, Lee Fell, Lentworth Vaschery, Marshaw Fell, Myerscough, Ortner Vaschery, Oxcliffe, Pilling Lane, Scotforth, Stodday, Thurnham, Torrisholme, Abbeystead, Aldcliffe, Ashton, Ashton with Stodday, Bare, Bulk, Catshaw Vaschery, Dunkenshaw Fell, Emmetts Vaschery, Fulwood, Green Vaschery, Hackensall, and Heaton.[1]

To read an excellent 19th Century historical perspective on the City of Lancaster and its many churches and chapels, see the Topographical Dictionary of England by the famous topographer, Samuel A. Lewis.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/


Church records 

Online Records 

Some online transcriptions exist for Lancaster St Mary's Parish (Cathedral), as well as for its several chapelries and ecclesiastical parishes--over which it held jurisdiction. Links to online baptisms, marriages and burials registers are displayed below and located at the web sites indicated; note the ranges of years: 

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = Joiner's Marriage Index (£)
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
LANCASTER ST MARY'S PARISH (1599) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1599-1886 1599-1812  None
LOPC 1749-1900 1599-1900 1749-1881
JOIN 1813-1837
LBMD 1837-1998
AC 1559-1748 1559-1748 1559-1748
LANCASTER ST ANNE Chapelry (1796) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1796-1812 None None
LOPC 1796-1900 1883-1900 None
LANCASTER CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry (1857) Indexes
FS 1894-1898 1874-1898 None
LOPC 1857-1884 1874-1900 None
LBMD  None None None
LANCASTER ST JOHN Chapelry (1755) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1755-1813 1847-1853  1842-1854
LOPC 1755-1900 1842-1900 1757-1854
LBMD None None None
AC 1639-1812 1639-1812 1639-1812
LANCASTER ST SAVIOUR Chapelry (1867) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None  None 
LOPC None None None
LBMD  None None None
LANCASTER ST THOMAS Chapelry (1845) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1845-1859 None  None
LOPC None None None
LBMD  None 1847-2005  None
LANCASTER CASTLE (EXTRA PAROCHIAL) () Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC None None None
BLEASDALE (ADMARSH CHAPEL) Chapelry (1779) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1801-1900 1849-1900  None
LOPC 1779-1982 1849-1976 1781-1900
LBMD None 1849-1976 None
CATON Chapelry (1585) Indexes 
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1585-1859 1586-1718  1846-1859
LOPC 1586-1900 1586-1900 1585-1900
FMP None 1586-1837 None
AC  1585-1718 1585-1718  1585-1718 
FULWOOD CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry (1861) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1861-1900 1866-1900  None
LOPC 1861-1900  1865-1900  None
FMP  None None None
FULWOOD GARRISON CHAPEL (Army) - 1848 Indexes (at Man. Central Libr.)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None Extant None Extant
LBMD None None None
 GLASSON Chapelry (1840) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1840-1880 None 1840-1880 
LOPC 1840-1880  None 1840-1880
FMP  None None None
GRESSINGHAM ST JOHN THE EVANGELIST Chapelry (1676) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1676-1888 1691-1835  1676-1859
LOPC 1676-1812 1691-1828 1676-1930
LBMD  None 1838-2000 None
FMP None 1691-1835 None
AC 1676-1828 1676-1828 1676-1828
LITTLEDALE ST ANNE Chapelry (1848) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC None None None
LBMD  None 1850-2004  None
AC None None None
MYERSCOUGH  Chapelry (1599) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None  None  None
LOPC None None None
LBMD  None None None
OVER-WYRESDALE CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry (1724) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1715-1880 1818, 1856-1867 1813-1880
LOPC 1723-1813 None 1725-1741
FMP  None None None
OVERTON ST HELEN Chapelry (1678) Indexes 
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1713-1730 1812-1821 1725-1821
LOPC 1813-1857  1754-1837  1813-1900
FMP  None None None
POULTON-LE-SANDS HOLY TRINITY Chapelry (1813) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1813-1900 1848-1900  None
LOPC None None None
FMP  None None None
QUERNMORE ST PETER Chapelry (1862) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1856-1888 None 1856-1888
LOPC None None None
SCOTFORTH ST PAUL (1876) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1876-1900 1876-1900 None
LOPC 1876-1900 1876-1900 None
  SKERTON ST LUKE Chapelry (1834) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1834-1900 1866-1900  1834-1882 
LOPC 1834-1894 1866-1900 1859-1900
STALMINE ST JAMES WITH STAYNALL CHAPEL Chapelry (1583) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1583-1900 1584-1900  1684-1898
LOPC 1583-1900 1583-1900 1583-1899
AC  1583-1724 1583-1724 1583-1724 


Original Records

Original copies of the parish registers for Lancaster St Mary and its numerous attached smaller chapelries' registers are held at the Lancashire Record Office, Bow Lane, Preston, PR2 1RE.

In addition, the Family History Library, at FamilySearch in Salt Lake City, UT, U.S.A. also has microfilm copies of these originals and these may be circulated to any one of its 4,600 satellite FamilySearch Centres worldwide.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306936.


Poor Law Unions

Lancaster Poor Law Union,Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

  • 1665-1667 - Lancashire Hearth Tax: Lonsdale Hundred, Lancaster Borough. E 179/132/352, The National Archives. Microfilm: FHL Film 2228692. Includes Aldcliffe, Ashton, Bare, Bulk, Carnforth, Poulton le Sands, Scotforth, Stodday, Thurnham, and Torrisholme.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 6-17.Date Accessed 24 September 2013

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:09.
  • This page has been accessed 3,273 times.