Lancaster St Thomas, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Lancaster St Thomas, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Lancaster St Thomas, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Amounderness; Lonsdale; West Derby
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Lancaster PLU
Registration District Garstang; Lancaster; Preston
Records begin
Parish registers: 1845
Bishop's Transcripts: 1845
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Amounderness
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Amounderness
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapel History

Lancaster (St Thomas) was created a district church or chapel in 1844 from, and lying within the boundaries of Lancaster St Mary ancient parish. The church was consecrated on the 14th June, 1841. Its style is early English and its appearance both within and without is strikingly elegant. The edifice is of beautiful white freestone obtained in the neighbourhood.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two major Internet sites with name lists or indexes: 

  1. FreeBMD.  - over 250 million births, marriages and death entries
  2. Lancashire BMD - Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Lancaster St Thomas chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Lancaster St Mary to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


LANCASTER ST THOMAS Chapelry (1845) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1845-1859 None  None
LOPC None None None
LBMD  None 1847-2005  None
LANCASTER ST MARY'S(ancient parish containing LANCASTER ST THOMAS Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1599-1886 1599-1812  None
LOPC 1749-1900 1599-1900 1749-1881
LBMD None 1837-1998 None 
AC 1559-1748 1559-1748 1559-1748

For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Lancaster St Thomas and comprising the whole ancient parish of Lancaster St Mary to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the LANCASTER ST MARY PARISH page.


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306936.

Poor Law Unions

Lancaster Poor Law Union,Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 6-17. Date accessed: 01 July 2010.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:10.
  • This page has been accessed 1,226 times.