Lander County, NevadaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Lander County Nevada genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Nevada Gotoarrow.png Lander County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Nevada
Online Records


Lander County, Nevada
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Nevada
Location of Nevada in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 19, 1862
County Seat Battle Mountain
Courthouse
Address 315 S Humboldt Street
Battle Mountain, NV 89820
Phone: 775.635.5761
Lander County Website


Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Land
Probate
Court
1887*
1863*
1887*
1862
1862
1862
* For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries
  • Parent County: created 19 December 1862 as an original county
  • County Seat: Battle Mountain [1]
  • Neighboring Counties: Churchill | [[[Elko County, Nevada|Elko]] | Eureka | Humboldt | Nye | Pershing

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Resources

Biography

Cemeteries

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Nevada Church Records.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local histories are available for Lander County, Nevada. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nevada Local Histories.

Land and Property

The county recorder's office keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

In the FamilySearch Catalog, land records for Nevada are listed in the Place Search under: NEVADA, Lander – LAND AND PROPERTY

Maps

Nvlander.jpg








Migration

Early migration routes to and from Lander County, Nevada for emigrant settlers included:

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Lander County, Nevada newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Probate

Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Nevada Probate Records for additional information.

Public Records

Repositories

Courthouse

Lander County Courthouse
315 S Humboldt Street
Battle Mountain, NV 89820
775-635-5761

County Clerk has marriage records from 1867,
divorce records, probate and court records from 1865.
County Auditor has some birth records. [5]

Family History Centers
Libraries
  • Round Mountain Public Library
    73 Hadley Ln
    Round Mountain, NV 89045
    775-377-2215
Museums
Societies
  • Austin Historical Society
    180 Main Street
    Austin, NV 89310
    775-964-1202

Taxation

Nevada tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records. Most tax records can be obtained from the county treasurer or assessor. For more information, see the wiki page Nevada Taxation. The Family History Library does not have copies of Nevada tax records (as of June 2013).

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most Nevada original records can be purchased from the Nevada State Health Division or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Nevada Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.

Birth
Marriage

Over 1,106 marriages from 18 Jul 1863 to 10 Dec 1949 are listed in the Western States Marriage Index.

Death

Websites

  • USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
  • FamilySearch Catalog

Places

Argenta Canon City Gold Quartz McCoy Rennox
Austin Copper Basin Hilltop Mosel Rosny
Bannock Cortez Jenkins Mount Airy Tenabo
Battle Mountain}} Dewitt Mill Kampos Petersons Mill Yankee Blade
Buckingham Camp Gold Acres Kingston Piute

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. National Park Service, "California Trail" (map) in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/upload/CALImap1-web.pdf (accessed 2 August 2011).
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "First Transcontinental Railroad" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/First_Transcontinental_Railroad (accessed 2 August 2011).
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Central Overland Route" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Central_Overland_Route (accessed 4 August 2011).
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lander County, Oregon page 442, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 September 2014, at 16:33.
  • This page has been accessed 6,635 times.