Lane Bridge, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Lane Bridge, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Lane Bridge, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Blackburn
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Clitheroe PLU
Registration District Burnley
Records begin
Parish registers: None
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Whalley
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

LANE-BRIDGE, was created a district chapel or church by 1849 from, and lying within the boundaries of Whalley, Higher division of the hundred of Blackburn, N. division of Lancashire. This ecclesiastical district was constituted in September, 1845, and named St. Paul. It is formed of the southeastern part of the township of Habergham-Eaves, and is bounded on the north-east by the West Calder river. There is a Roman Catholic chapel here.— See also Habergham-Eaves.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306917.

Poor Law Unions

Burnley Poor Law Union,Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 17-20. Adapted. Date accessed: 01 July 2010.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 05:07.
  • This page has been accessed 973 times.