Lane County, OregonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Oregon Gotoarrow.png Lane County

Guide to Lane County Oregon genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Oregon
Online Records

Coordinates: 43.95°0′N 122.88°0′W / 43.95°N 122.88°W / 43.95; -122.88

Lane County, Oregon
Map
Map of Oregon highlighting Lane County
Location in the state of Oregon
Map of the U.S. highlighting Oregon
Location of Oregon in the U.S.
Facts
Founded: January 11, 1851
County Seat Eugene
Courthouse
Address Lane County Courthouse
{{
Adopt-a-wiki page
Oregon Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Oregon Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today
| }}

Contents

County Courthouse

Lane County Courthouse
125 East 8th
Eugene, Or 97630
Phone: 541-682-4234

Deeds and Records Archives has marriage, land,
military and naturalization records from 1855.
Court Archives has probate and divorce records.
Clerk Circuit Court has court records. [1]

County Records Inventory listing the records held at the Lane County Court House as of July/August 2012.

Lane County Court is structured differently. Check the County Records Inventory link for addresses for location of records (left column).

Lane County Courthouse for additional information about some addresses and records.

Lane County Information

Lane County's civil records start the following years:

Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1882-1928 1852 1882-1928 1854 1854 1852

Historical Facts

Lane-joseph.png
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Lane County, Oregon
Named for Joseph Lane, the first governor of Oregon Territory.

Boundary Changes

28 January 1851: Lane county was created from Linn (Non-County Area 3) and Umpqua (Non-County Area 4) Counties. [2] (Source: Newberry Library)
11 January 1854: Part was taken to form Wasco
07 January 1852: Lost small area to creation of Douglas. (Ore. Terr. Laws 1851, 3rd reg. sess., p. 18)
22 December 1853:
Gained from Umpqua (extinct); gained from Non-County Area 4; exchanged with Douglas. (Ore. Terr. Special Laws, 1853, 5th reg. sess., p. 13)
19 November 1885:
Gained from Douglas. (Ore. Laws 1885, gen., 13th sp. sess., p. 3)
16 February 1887:
Gained from Linn. (Ore. Laws 1887, gen., 14th reg. sess., p. 126)
19 Feb 1903:
Gained from Douglas. (Ore. Laws 1903, 22nd reg. sess., pp. 115-116)
29 January 1907: Exchanged with Linn. (Ore. Laws 1907, gen., 24th reg. sess., ch. 3/pp. 12-14)
19 February 1907:
Gained from Linn. (Ore. Laws 1907, gen., 24th reg. sess., ch. 63/pp. 114-115)
12 February 1915:
Gained from Linn and exchanged with Douglas. Area annexed from Linn was approximately 120 acres along the Willamette River near the present town of Lancaster [too small to map]. (Ore. Laws 1915, gen., 28th reg. sess., ch. 65/pp. 74-77)
15 February 1923:
Lost to Benton and Lincoln. (Ore. Laws 1923, gen., 32nd reg. sess., ch. 92/pp. 129-131)
3 March 1927:
Boundary with Lincoln redefined to correct minor errors in 15 February 1923 description [no change]. (Ore. Laws 1927, gen., 34th reg. sess., ch. 278/pp. 350-351)
6 March 1931: Gained small area from Lincoln when boundary was redefined to correct an error in the previous description. (Ore. Laws 1931, gen., 36th reg. sess., ch. 288/p. 514)

For animated maps illustrating Oregon County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Oregon County Boundary Maps" (1843-1975) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Trivia Tidbits

Information about localities, too small or too brief to describe in separate pages. Exception to this are Post Offices. Gotoarrow.png Trivia Tidbits

Resources

Biography

Trivia Tidbits: Little biographic bits associated with the names of non-population localities.

Cemeteries

Census

Church

Lutheran
  • Records of Bethesda Evangelical Lutheran Church, Eugene, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[3]

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Funeral Homes

Gazetteers

Genealogy

Mailing Lists

Message Boards

History

Land and Property

Maps

Orlane.jpg

Military

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Oregon Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.

Probate Records

Repositories

  • Lane County Archive and Records Center
  • Lane County Historical Museum
  • Lane County Public Service Building
  • Lane Education Service District
  • Oregon State Archives
  • Oregon Historical Society
  • University of Oregon, Knight Library

Rivers and Waterways

Details about the rivers and waterways where farms and settlements are often found along them.
Gotoarrow.png Rivers and Waterways

Societies

Taxation

Vital Records

See also How to order Oregon Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Oregon Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.

Births

Marriages

Divorce Records

Deaths

Libraries

See also a List of Oregon Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Websites

Lane County Oregon Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Klamath County, Oregon page 573, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.; Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002 WorldCat 50140092, FHL Book 973 D27e 2002
  3. "Evangelical Lutheran Church in America: An Inventory of Selected Congregational Records of the American Lutheran Church in Minnesota at the Minnesota Historical Society," Collection Finding Aids, Minnesota Historical Society, http://www.mnhs.org/library/findaids/01009.xml, accessed 10 June 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 August 2014, at 21:04.
  • This page has been accessed 11,880 times.