Lanercost with Kirkcambeck, CumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cumberland Gotoarrow.png Cumberland Parishes

Guide to Lanercost with Kirkcambeck, Cumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Lanercost with Kirkcambeck, Cumberland
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Eskdale
County Cumberland
Poor Law Union Brampton PLU
Registration District Brampton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1684
Bishop's Transcripts: 1666
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Carlisle
Diocese Carlisle
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Carlisle (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

LANERCOST-ABBEY (St. Mary Magdalene), a parish, in the union of Brampton, Eskdale ward, E. division of Cumberland, 2½ miles (N. E.) from Brampton. Brampton, comprises the ancient parish of Kirk Cambeck. [1]


Kirkcambeck, was an an extra-parochial parish in the township of Askerton in the parish of Lanercost. It was less then 1/2 mile square and shared a border with the parishes of Stapleton and Walton.

 "ASKERTON, is a township in the parish of Lanercost, 15 miles N.N.E. from Carlisle. It includes the ancient parish of Kirkcambeck or Cambeck, the church of which was destroyed by the Scots in the reign of Edward II. Askerton Castle stands on the eastern bank of the Cambeck. Two of the towers still remain, and are now connected with modern buildings, and occupied as a farmstead..." Historical & descriptive guide to Carlisle and district, published 1881 by Albert Barnes Moss

Resources

If you live in Cumbria then you will have access to a variety of resources; however, for those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at Family History Centers.  Refer to Lanercost and Cumberland in the FamilySearch Catalogue for available records.

Civil Registration

Lanercost was in Brampton district. To search an index of Brampton district records go to FreeBMD. The Cumberland Civil Registration article tells more about these records.

Church records

Parish registers for Lanercost, 1684-1990

Bishop's transcripts for Lanercost, 1666-1876

Parish registers for Chapelry of Gilsland, 1856-1978

Bishop's transcripts Chapelry of Gilsland, 1856-1880

Lanercost with Kirkcambeck, Cumberland parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
LANERCOST PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL

1790-1837


Non-Conformist Churches

Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

There are census records available for Lannercost from 1841 to 1911. Census records are available on a variety of subscription and other websites. If you need to consult the 241281on microfilm, refer to the library catalogue.
There is statistical data available for the census years 1801 to 1931 that records the number of houses, families, people, and other statistical data for every parish in the county.
Refer to the Cumberland Census wiki article for details.

Abstract of the Answers and Returns made pursuant to an Act ...
1831 Census
free google ebook
Lanercost Parish - 36,510 Acres or 57 Sq. Miles

Employment

Townships
Houses
Agriculture
Trade
Others
Persons
Askerton
75
63
11
2
473
Banks
51
38
6
15
296
Burtholme
41
27
7
11
239
Kingwater
55
45
10
-
365
Waterhead
21
19
3
2
177
Totals
243
192
37
30
1550

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Lanercost on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), Date accessed and adapted 6 August 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
Lanercost Priory

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 December 2014, at 17:13.
  • This page has been accessed 1,437 times.