Langar cum Barnstone, Nottinghamshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Langar cum Barnstone, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
|Langar cum Barnstone, Nottinghamshire|
Langar St+Andrew Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||Bingham PLU|
|Parish registers: 1595|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1609; Separate records exist for Barnstone beginning 1813|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
LANGAR (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union, and N. division of the wapentake, of Bingham, S. division of the county of Nottingham, 10½ miles (E. S. E.) from Nottingham. This parish, including the chapelry of Barnstone. There is a chapel of ease at Barnstone.
Langare cum Barnstone St Andrew is an extensive Ancient parish which includes Barnstone (sometimes spelled Barnston in records) and its parish boundary forms the county boundary with the neighbouring Leicestershire parishes of Hose, Leicestershire Harby, Leicestershire Stathern, Leicestershire and part of Plungar, Leicestershire.
The parish church of St Andrew has been designated a grade listed I building listed building
See also St Andrew Langar Wikipedia
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Barnstone Bishop's Transcripts 1813-1838
Langar St Andrew parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|LANGAR PARISH Online Records|
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1595-1901 Marriages 1596-1902 Burials 1596-1963 Bishop's Transcripts 1609-1873
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Langar cum Barnstone
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438902.
Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 December 2013.
- ↑ 'Nottinghamshire baptisms 1538-1980,' 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' 'Nottinghamshire burials 1539-1905,' findmypast, accessed 12 January 2015.
- ↑ Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- This page was last modified on 2 June 2015, at 19:03.
- This page has been accessed 1,765 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News