Langford with Holme, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Contents

Parish History

Langford with Holme, Nottinghamshire
Langford St+Bartholomew Nottinghamshire.jpg
Langford St+Bartholomew Nottinghamshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Newark; Thurgarton
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Newark PLU
Registration District Newark; Southwell
Records begin
Parish registers: 1669; Separate registers exist for Holme beginning 1711
Bishop's Transcripts: 1686; Separate records exist for Holme beginning 1614
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newark
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office


LANGFORD, a parish in Newark district, Notts; on the Newark and Lincoln railway, and on the Fosse way, near the river Trent. and near the boundary with Lincolnshire, 3 miles NNE of Newark r. station. Post-town, Newark. The living is a p. curacy, annexed to the vicarage of Holme, in the diocese of Lincoln.[1]

Additional information:

Langford St Bartholomew is an Ancient parish which united to form langford with Holme Ecclesiastical parish  circa 1849 from Langford Ancient Parish and Holme chapelry in North Muskham, Nottinghamshire Ancient Parish.

Other places in the parish include: Holme.

Part of the parish boundary forms part of the county boundary with neighbour Stapleford, Lincolnshire

Southwell and Nottingham Church History Project are researching the history of the church Langford St Bartholomew
The parish church of St Bartholomew dates in part from the 13th century and was restored in 1862. It has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See also Langford Nottinghamshire Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This parish was from 1837 within Newark registration district

Certificates can be obtained from:

Newark
The Register Office
County Offices
Balderton Gate
Newark
NG24 1UW
01636 705455
01636 679259
newarkro.cc@nottscc.gov.uk

Church records

Langford St Bartholomew

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1689-1901 Marriages 1703-1907 Burials 1701-1992 Bishop's Transcripts 1686-1844
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Langford with Holme

Langford parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
LANGFORD PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1790-1837

Holme parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
HOLME PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1790-1837


Holme by Newark.  A transcription of memorial inscriptions giving surname, given names, date of death, and age, dating from 1691.  Original held at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref DD/TS 19/16, and transcription is in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 64, page 13, FHL Ref 942.52 also

Langford transcriptions dating from 1740, original at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref DD/TS 19/20, and transcription in vol. 64, page 15. FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438907.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Occupation

Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.

Poor Law Unions

Newark Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 August 2014, at 15:19.
  • This page has been accessed 969 times.