Lannarth, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Parishes

Lannarth, Cornwall
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Kerrier
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Redruth PLU
Registration District Redruth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1845
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Kerrier
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

LANNARTH, an ecclesiastical parish, in the parish of Gwennap, union of Redruth, E. division of the hundred of Kerrier, W. division of Cornwall, 1½ mile (S. S. E.) from Redruth. There are three places of worship for Methodists, each of a different section of that body. [1]


Lannarth (alias Lanner) Christ Church is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Cornwall, created in 1844 from  Gwennap, Cornwall Ancient Parish.

The parish church, Christ Church, is in the Diocese of Truro and was consecrated on St Swithin's day, 1845. It is a small stuccoed building and was restored in 1883. The registers date from 1839

The foundation stone of the Anglican chapel (which became the parish church in 1844) in Lanner was laid on 20 April 1839. The Times reported that "On Wednesday, the 20th ult., the first stone of a new chapel at Lanner, in Gwennap, was laid by the Venerable Archdeacon Sheepshanks". Until constituted a parish in 1844 Lanner (or Lannarth) was part of the parish of Gwennap.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Lannarth, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3]
Lannarth, Cornwall Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
COPC 1869-1904
1845-1913

FMP 1869-1871

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Images of parish registers are available online in historic records (formerly Record Search) Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference:P 112

Non Conformist Churches

Lanner has a large Wesleyan Methodist chapel. The former Bible Christian chapel is now used as the Village Hall and the former Primitive Methodist chapel is now used as as the silver band's rehearsal room.

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish http://www.cornwall-opc.org/Par_new/l_m/lanner.php George and Sandra Pritchard aslo provide their website http://gwennap-opc.tripod.com/ for the Gwennap area

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241260.


Cornwall Online Census Project

Poor Law Unions

Redruth Poor Law Union


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 28-30. Date accessed: 20 March 2013.
  2. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  3. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 22 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 May 2014, at 21:43.
  • This page has been accessed 696 times.