Lansing Michigan Family History CenterEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

FamilySearch This article describes the services and resources available at a Family History Center, a branch facility of the Family History Library.

We are here to serve the Lansing and surrounding area. We are open to the general public for 28 hours each week. Our staff is made up of volunteers interested in genealogy and in assisting patrons in their reasearch process.  While we are glad to assist you in your research, we are unable to perform your research for you.

Michiganlansingfhc.jpg

Contents

Center Contacts and Hours

Location Map:

  • 431 East Saginaw St., East Lansing, MI 48826 United States
  • The Family History Center is located approximately 1 1/2 blocks east of Abbott Road on the north side of the road.
  • The Family History Center is in the church building of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
  • Entrance is at the back of the building. There is plenty of free parking.

Phone: 1 517-332-2932 (We have an answering machine so you can leave a message and we will return your call.)

E-mail: MI_Lansing@ldsmail.net

FHC Director: Mary Griffes

Open Hours:

  • Tues:    12pm - 8:00pm.
  • Wed:   10:00am. - 6:00pm.
  • Thur:   12pm - 8:00pm.
  • Sat:

Closed:

  • If weather conditions are questionable (snow, ice, etc.) call during regular hours to see if we are open.

Holiday Schedule:

  • The Family History Center is closed on the following holidays:
  • New Years Day and possibly the days following. Please call to confirm dates.
  • Church General Conference - usually the first Saturday in April.  Please call to confirm date.
  • Memorial Day Weekend
  • July 4th and possibly the days following. Please call to confirm dates.
  • Labor Day weekend
  • Thanksgiving and the following Saturday
  • Christmas - Closed for two weeks. Please call to confirm dates.

Calendar and Events

Upcoming Events

  • The next seminar will occur on Saturday, April 26, 2014.  Online registration should begin in February, 2014.  "Watch" this page for updated notices about the seminar.

Class Schedule

Staff Training Meetings

  • Staff training is offered on the second Saturday of each odd numbered month at 8:30 a.m.

Center Resources

Collections

  • 11,000 Microfiche  and 3,700 Microfilm
  • These microfiche and microfilm include the following:
    • Reference Titles (fiche) - Included are about 200 selected reference titles that the F.H.L. has placed on microfiche and are available for use in our FHC.  Included are frequently used titles such as gazetteers, atlases and information from many areas throughout the world.
    • Accelerated Indexing System (fiche) - Incomplete index to many U.S. Census records.
    • Index to the Ontario, Canada Land Records (fiche) - An index to applicants for crown land.  Data in this index ranges from the 1780's to the beginning of World War I, from grants to Loyalists to veterans of the Boer War.
    • Cook County, Illinois Birth and Death Index (fiche) - Birth Index: 1871 - 1916; Death Index: 1871 - 1938
    • Michigan Vital Records (1,000 plus film reels) - Birth, Death & Marriage records for most Michigan Counties.  Nine counties would not allow filming of these records.
    • Michigan - Ingham County - Probate Index and Records (135 film) - Complete collection of Ingham County records that are available.
    • Michigan - Ingham County - Land Deed Index and Records (51 film) - Complete collection of Ingham County records that are available.
    • Michigan Land Deed Indexes & Michigan Probate Indexes (film) - A few counties would not allow filming of these records.
    • Michigan Census Records (film) - ONLY EARLY YEARS.  Found in Michigan Misc. Indefinite Drawer.
    • Michigan Soldier Cemetery Records (3 film)
    • Michigan Indian 1836 Census (film) - Ottawa and Chippewa.
    • French Canadian Loiselle Marriage Index (200 plus film)
    • Williamston Enterprise - Early Years (4 film)
    • Naturalization - Michigan Wayne County Petitions - 1880-1995 (200 plus film)
  • 850 Books arranged by area
  • Computer Compact Disks (Notebooks in bookcase in computer room. Please check with a Librarian for titles.)  German & Swiss settlers in America 1700's - 1800's; British Isles Vital Records Index; N.A. Vital Records Index; Australia Vital Records Index; Topographical Dictionaries & Lewis's Gazetteers of England, Ireland & Scotland; Mormon Immigration Index; Index to Griffith's Valuation of Ireland, 1848-1868; Pedigree Resource File; Irish Immigrants to N.A. 1803 - 1871; Early New York Families 1600 - 1900; Passenger & Immigration Lists Index 1538 - 1940; Ontario & Nova Scotia Settlers 1790 - 1860; Scottish Immigrants to N.A. 1600's - 1800's; Local & Family Histories: Connecticut 1600's - 1800's; Freedman's Bank Records; Pennsylvania Colonial Records 1600's - 1800's; 1881 British Census & National Index; Western Europe Vital Records Index; Plus many other miscellaneous titles.
  • FamilySearch Catalog: This center has the ability to order most (some are restricted) of the films and fiche available through the FamilySearch Catalog. 
  • All ordering of Microfilm and Microfiche must now be done online.  Please go to https://film.familysearch.org.  Also, you must make payment online.  You will need to create either an LDS account (for members of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints) or a FamilySearch account (for those who are not a member of the Church) before you can begin ordering online.  You will also need an e-mail account to create your LDS or FamilySearch account.  Please remember to write down you username and password.

Databases and Software

  • FHC Portal This center has access to the Family History Center Portal page which gives free access in the center to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.  These premium subscriptions are:
    • 19th Century British Library Newspaper Digital Archive
      • 48 national and regional Victorian British newspapers for the 19th century.
    • Access Newspaper Archive
      • Features billions of historical newspaper articles from the U.S and world.
    • Alexander Street Press - The American Civil War
      • Indexed, searchable information on over 4 million soldiers, thousands of battles, together with 15,000 photographs.
    • Ancestry.com
      • Thousands of collections of records from around the world.  Ancestry.com is the largest for-profit genealogy company in the world.
    • Find My Past
      • Research UK census, birth, marriage and death records. Includes the 1911 British Census.
    • Fold3.com (previously known as Footnote.com)
      • Search millions of historical documents and photos.  Fold3.com has refocused its efforts on gathering the best online collection of military records and stories.
    • The Genealogist
      • English Parish records, directories, census, civil registration, surname mapping and selected Army and Navy lists.
    • Genline Family Finder (launcher)
      • Access to images of the original Swedish Church records from the 1600s to 1897. Also includes civil registration between 1860 and 1897 for births, marriages and deaths.  They will also be adding newer records up to the 1930s.
    • Godfrey Memorial Library
      • Contains U.S. and international resources, the Genealogical biographical index (AGBI) containing statistics, sources for research etc.  Contains an extensive collection of city and business directories; vital records; state, county and local histories as well as many other records.
    • Heritage Quest Online
      • Searches include Census records, Books, PERSI Periodical Source Index, Revolutionary War records, Freedman's Bank and U.S. Serial Set.
    • Historical Map Works Library Edition
      • One of the most extensive digital map collections available with over 470,000 high-resolution, full color, historic and antique maps.
    • Paper Trail
      • 19th Century westward American migration documents.
    • World Vital Records
      • Access to birth, marriage and death records; Social Security Death Index; family trees; census records; immigration records; court, land and probate records; military records' directory lists; newspapers, family histories, reference materials, biographies, wills, gravestone photos, ship manifests, map collections, and yearbook collections.

Hardware and Equipment

  • 10 Computers
  • 12 Microfilm readers
  • 4 Microfiche readers
  • 1 Microfilm / Microfiche printer
  • 1 photocopier (librarians do the copying)


Resources in the Local Area

Michigan Historical Center (includes Archives, Museum and much more)

Michigan Vital Records Office

Michigan Vital Records (wiki article)

Library of Michigan  



Links

Eaton County Genealogical Society

Genealogists of the Clinton County Historical Society

Historical Society of Greater Lansing

Ingham County Genealogical Society

Lansing Area African American Genealogical Society

Michigan Genealogical Council

Stockbridge Area Genealogical and Historical Society

Seeking Michigan

Michigan Biographical Index

Michigan Family History Network

Western Michigan Genealogical Society

Mid-Michigan Genealogical Society



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 00:09.
  • This page has been accessed 3,700 times.