Lanteglos-by-Fowey, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Parishes

Guide to Lanteglos-by-Fowey, Cornwall family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Lanteglos-by-Fowey, Cornwall
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Liskeard PLU
Registration District Liskeard
Records begin
Parish registers: 1661
Bishop's Transcripts: 1607
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery West
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

LANTEGLOS (St. Lanty), a parish, in the union of Liskeard, hundred of West, E. division of Cornwall, 2 miles (E.) from Fowey.[1]

Lanteglos-by-Fowet St Wyllow is an Ancient Parish in the county of Cornwall.Other places in the parish include: Bodinnock, Highway, Polruan, and Bodinnoc.


Resources

Civil Registration


Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.


Church records

Lanteglos-by-Fowey, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[4][5][6]
FREG = FreeREG - free[7]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[8]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[9]
Lanteglos-by-Fowey, Cornwall Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1607-1673

COPC 1661-1807, 1813-1913
1678-1913
1678-1936
FMP 1674-1836 1610-1837 1678-1837
FREG 1813-1899
1837-1907
1813-1901
IGI 1674-1773
TGEN 1716-1841


Images of parish registers are available online in historic records (formerly Record Search) Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 116

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241274.

Probate records


Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

  • 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
  • Vision of Britain

Websites

Add here any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 28-30. Date accessed: 20 March 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  4. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  5. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  6. 'Cornwall Burials', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  7. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  8. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 22 November 2013.
  9. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 20 May 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 May 2014, at 22:33.
  • This page has been accessed 577 times.