Laramie County, WyomingEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Laramie County Wyoming genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Wyoming Gotoarrow.png Laramie County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Wyoming
Online Records


Laramie County, Wyoming
Map
Map of Wyoming highlighting Laramie County
Location in the state of Wyoming
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wyoming
Location of Wyoming in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 9, 1867
County Seat Cheyenne
Courthouse
Laramie County Government Complex, Cheyanne, Wyoming.jpg
Address Laramie County Courthouse
309 W 20th Street
Cheyenne, WY 82001
Phone: 307.633.4268
Laramie County Website



Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Land
Probate
Court
----*
1868*
----*
1867
1868
1868
* For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wyoming County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wyoming County Boundary Maps" (1848-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

Resources

Biography

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Laramie County, Wyoming census records online, see: Wyoming Census.

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Wyoming denominations, view the Wyoming Church Records wiki page.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Cheyenne

Court Records

Laramie County has a District Court, County Circuit Court, and Municipal Court. District and County Circuit courts are in Cheyenne and municipal courts are in Burns, Cheyenne, and Pine Bluffs. The District Court handles civil matters over $7000 (Judgments, Divorces, Torts, Adoptions, etc.), Criminal Felonies, Juvenile Crimes and Neglect, Paternity and Child Support Enforcement Cases, Probate Matters such as Estates or Involuntary Commitments. The Circuit Court is a limited jurisdiction court. It hears all misdemeanor criminal cases and smaller civil cases. Judges are full time and they must be lawyers. Municipal Court administers the operation of the judicial branch of the City Government according to the ordinances adopted by the City Council.

  • Laramie County District Court
    309 W. 20th Street Room 3205
    Cheyenne WY 82003-0787
    307-633-4270

  • Laramie County Circuit Court
    309 W 20th Street Room 2300,
    Cheyenne WY 82001
    307-633-4298

  • Burns Municipal Court
    102 East 1st Street
    Burns WY 82053
    307-547-2206

  • Cheyenne Municipal Court
    309 W 20th St Room 2100
    Cheyenne WY 82001
    307-633-4422

  • Pine Bluffs Municipal Court
    220 Main Street, PO Box 429
    Pine Bluffs WY 82082
    307-245-3746

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local histories are available for Laramie County, Wyoming. County and town histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Wyoming Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Wyoming Land and Property for additional information about early Wyoming land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Maps

Wylaramie.jpg

Migration

Military

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Laramie County, Wyoming newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Probate

In most counties in Wyoming, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Wyoming- Albany - Probate records.

Public Records

Repositories

See also a List of Wyoming Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Courthouse

County Clerk has marriage records from 1868 and land records.
Clerk District Court has divorce, probate and court records.[2]

Family History Centers

Introduction to LDS Family History Centers

Libraries
Museums
Societies
  • Cheyenne Wyoming Genealogical and Historical Society
    P.O. Box 2539
    Cheyenne, WY 82003-2539
    Email: cghswyoming@gmail.com

    "Local research volunteers will give 30 minutes of time to research information located in the Laramie County Library Genealogy Room. Additional time needed to research data outside of the Genealogy Room may be billed per an agreement with the research volunteer." Requests for research should have the word "research" in the subject line of emails or on the envelopes of written requests.

  • Union Pacific Historical Society
    1111 East Lincolnway
    Cheyenne, WY 82001-4849
    Mailing Address:
    PO Box 4006
    Cheyenne, Wyoming 82003
    307–635-5197

    The Society was founded in 1984 to preserve the rich and colorful history of the railroad from its beginning in 1862 to the present. It is not connected with the railroad, only with preserving history.

Taxation

Wyoming tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records.

See also How to order Wyoming Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Wyomong Birth Certificate, Marriage or Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Applications to mail.


Birth
Marriage
Death

Websites

Places

Albin Cheyenne Horse Creek Pine Bluffs
Altvan Durham Islay Ranchettes
Arcola Egbert Lambert South Greeley
Athol Farthing Meriden Speer
Burns Gleason Orchard Valley Tracy
Carpenter Hillsdale Otto Tremain

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 766. Laramie County, Wyoming

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 24 August 2014, at 12:08.
  • This page has been accessed 8,276 times.