Larue County, KentuckyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Kentucky  Gotoarrow.png  Larue County

Guide to Larue County Kentucky ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Kentucky
Online Records


Larue County, Kentucky
Map
Map of Kentucky highlighting Larue County
Location in the state of Kentucky
Map of the U.S. highlighting Kentucky
Location of Kentucky in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 4, 1843
County Seat Hodgenville
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Kylogosm.gif This page adopted by:
KYGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
and its representative
Larue Co. KYGenWeb
Adopt a page today

Contents

County Courthouse

Beginning Dates for Larue County, Kentucky Government Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Census Deeds Wills
1852 1843 1852 1860 1843 1843
*Many years between 1852 and 1911 are missing
Larue County, Kentucky Courthouse.JPG

Larue County Courthouse
209 W High Street
Hodgenville, KY 42748
Phone: 270.358.3544[1]

History

The county is named for John Larue (1746-1792), Kentucky frontier settler.[2]

Parent County

1843--Larue County was created 4 March 1843 from Hardin County.  County seat: Hodgenville [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Kentucky county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Kentucky County Boundary Maps" (1776-1939) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

1865--A disaster destroyed most of the records. For a list of record loss in Kentucky counties see: Kentucky Counties with Burned Courthouses


Places/Localities

Populated Places

Athertonville Hodgenville Malt (hist.) South Buffalo
Attilla Jerico Mathers Mill Talley
Boundary Oak Keith (hist.) Maxine Tanner
Buffalo Leafdale Mount Sherman Tonieville
Ginseng Lyons Roanoke White City
Gleanings Magnolia

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Kylarue.png

African Americans

The following have information concerning African American research.  Both should be used:

Biographies

Cemeteries

Kentucky cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.
18505,859
18606,89117.6%
18708,23519.5%
18809,79318.9%
18909,433−3.7%
190010,76414.1%
191010,701−0.6%
192010,004−6.5%
19309,093−9.1%
19409,6225.8%
19509,9563.5%
196010,3463.9%
197010,6723.2%
198011,92211.7%
199011,679−2.0%
200013,37314.5%
Est. 200613,7913.1%
http://ukcc.uky.edu/~census/21123.txt

For tips on accessing Larue County, Kentucky census records online, see: Kentucky Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Kentucky denominations, view the Kentucky Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:

  • Locate publications about direct ancestors
  • Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
  • Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" [Friends, Associates, and Neighbors]
Bibliography
  • [Bomar] Wilbur, Tom. Eight Bomar Families of Early Hardin, Hart, and Larue Counties, Kentucky and Some of Their Descendants: A Few Allied Families: Bolton, Buckner, Clopton, Cruse, Dye, Ferguson, Hazle, Highbaugh, Hill, Hodge(s) Jaggers, Lamkin Mears, Owen(s), Shelton, Simpson, Waddle, Wheeler. Okemos, Mich.: T. Wilbur, 1997. FHL Book 929.273 B639w

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kentucky Land and Property for additional information about early Kentucky land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Larue County, Kentucky. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Kentucky Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Miscellaneous

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Larue County, Kentucky newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Probate

Probate records are held by the Larue County, Kentucky Clerk of Court and are housed at the Larue County, Kentucky Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Kentucky, Probate Records, 1792-1977. See the wiki page Kentucky Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more background information and state-wide resources see the wiki page Kentucky Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Kentucky enacted a statute in 1852-1862 requiring registration of births and deaths,many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1874-1879, and 1892-1910 but, again, was not always followed. By 1911, the law was more clearly defined and kept by 1920. Any existing births 1852-1960 and death records 1852-1953 can be accessed online. See How to Find Kentucky Birth Records and How to Find Kentucky Death Records for links to indexes and images.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Larue County, Kentucky Clerk, with divorce records 1849-1958 located with the Larue County, Kentucky Circuit Court. For more information see How to Find Kentucky Marriage Records. For Kentucky divorce records see the wiki page Kentucky Vital Records. See also How to order Kentucky Vital Records


Birth
  • 1852-1862 - Larue County Birth Index 1852-1862. Batch C517581 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1874-1875 - Larue County Birth Index 1874-1875. Batch C517582 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1875 - Larue County Birth Index 1875. Batch C517583 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Marriage
  • 1852-1862 - Larue County Marriage Index 1852-1862. Batch M517581 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1875 - Larue County Marriage Index 1875. Batch M517584 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1876-1878 - Larue County Marriage Index 1876-1878. Batch M517585 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Unsorted

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Larue County, Kentucky page 272, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. "Larue County, Kentucky," Wikipedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/LaRue_County,_Kentucky.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 4.5 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/0b/Igikentuckygl.pdf.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 November 2014, at 22:05.
  • This page has been accessed 9,139 times.