Las Animas County, ColoradoEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Colorado Gotoarrow.png Las Animas County

Guide to Las Animas County, Colorado ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Colorado
Online Records


Las Animas County, Colorado
Map
Map of Colorado highlighting Las Animas County
Location in the state of Colorado
Map of the U.S. highlighting Colorado
Location of Colorado in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 9, 1852
County Seat Trinidad
Courthouse
Address Las Animas County Courthouse
200 E 1st St
Trinidad, CO 81082
Phone: 719.846.3314
Las Animas County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

County Clerk has marriage records from 1887,
land records from 1883 and military dischrage records from 1918;
County Health Department has birth and death records.
Clerk District Court has divorce, probate and court records[1]

Historical Facts

Las Animas takes its name from the Spanish name for the Purgatoire River that runs through the county. Originally the river was called "El Rio de las Animas Perdidas en Purgatorio", which means "River of the Lost Souls in Purgatory".

Las Animas is the largest of the 64 counties in Colorado.


Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Tax
Land
Probate
1893-1896 [2]*
1868 [2]*
1893-1904 [2]*

1866
1866

*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

Birth records exist for the city of Trinidad 1893-1907[2].

County Seat

Trinidad[1]

Parent County

  • Before 1861 this modern Colorado county was in New Mexico.
Look for pre-1861 records in New Mexico. For further explanation see Taos County.
  • 1866 Las Animas was created 9 February 1866 from Huerfano County.

Neighboring Counties

Colasanimas.jpg

Record Loss

Resources

Cemeteries

Search by Cemetery Name

Aguilar Cemetery, Aguilar Community Cemetery, Albertson Cemetery, Andrix Cemetery, Barela Cemetery, Bloom Cemetery, Branson Community Cemetery, Burro Canyon Cemetery, Carpios Cemetery, Cedar Hill Cemetery, Cejita Cemetery, Chicosa Cemetery, Cordova Cemetery, Crespin Cemetery,Edenview Cemetery, Gallegos Cemetery, Garcia Cemetery,Hicks Cemetery, Jansen Cemetery, Jarosa Cemetery, Johnson Cemetery, Kim Cemetery, Knights of Pythias Cemetery, Leyba Cemetery, Los Hermanos Penitentes Cemetery, Lucero Cemetery, Martinez Cemetery, Masonic Cemetery, Mestas Cemetery, Mountain View Cemetery, Nola Cemetery, Pacheco Cemetery, Parker Cemetery, Pleasant View Cemetery, Plum Valley Cemetery, Prince Cemetery, Rivera Cemetery, Robb Cemetery, Romero Cemetery, Saint Anthony Cemetery, Saint Anthony Cemetery, Saint Pius Cemetery, San Juan Cemetery, San Juan Cemetery, Scott CemeterySimpson Cemetery, Starkville Cemetery, Tapia Cemetery, Tercio Cemetery, Thorp Cemetery, Tijeras Cemetery, Trinchera Cemetery, Trujillo Creek Cemetery, Valdea Cemetery, Valdez Cemetery, Vigil Cemetery, Vigil Cemetery, Wilcox Cemetery.


Search be Cemetery Location

Abeyta, Aguilar, Andrix, Barela, Beshoar, Boncarbo, Branson, Burro Canyon, Cokedale, Cordova Plaza, Delhi, Earl, El Moro, Engleville, Gulnare, Hoehne, Houghton, Jansen, Kim, Ludlow, Lynn, Medina Plaza, Model, Monument Park, Parras Plaza, Patterson Crossing, Reilly Canyon, Rugby, San Luis, San Miguel, Segundo, Simpson, Sopris, Starkville, Stonewall, Stonewall Gap, Tercio, Thatcher, Tijeras, Tobe, Torres, Trinchera, Trinidad, Tyrone, Valdez, Vallorso, Velasquez Plaza, Vigil, Villegreen, Walts CornerWeston, Whiskey Canyon, Zamara

Other Cemetery Websites
  • Gen Web Archives.  Listed Cemeteries for Las Animas County.
  • Gen Web.  Listed Cemeteries for Las Animas County. 

Census

For tips on accessing Las Animas County, Colorado census records online, see: Colorado Census.

Church Records

Court Records

Directories

Genealogy

Local History and Biography

Local histories are available for Las Animas County, Colorado. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Colorado Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Colorado Land and Property for additional information about early Colorado land grants.

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where current records are also housed.


Maps

Military

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Las Animas County, Colorado newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate

Probate records have been kept by the county courts. Colorado probate records include bonds, affidavits, letters, claims, appraisals, fee accounts, minutes, judgments, dockets, calendars, case files, and wills. The Family History Library does not have copies of probate records from Colorado.

You may obtain copies of documents from the clerk's office in the county courthouse.

 

Repositories

Archives

The Colorado State Archives has the following records available for Las Animas County, Colorado in this online database Archives Search. For a full list of online holdings, click here.
(Statewide)
Civilian Conservation Corps Enrollments 1936 - 1942
Divorce Index 1880 - 1939
Horseshoers 1897 - 1920
Mine Accidents, Non - fatal 1883 - 1900
Vietnam Deaths 1966, 1968
Las Animas County Naturalizations 1878 - 1906
Las Animas County Old Age Pensions 1933 - 1936

Family History Centers
Libraries
  • Aguilar Public Library
    146 W. Main Street
    Aguilar, CO 81020
    Telephone: 719-941-4426
Museums
Societies

Taxation

Colorado tax records complement land records and can be used as supplements to censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records. To find tax records in the FamilySearch Catalog, do a Catalog/frameset_fhlc.asp Place Search for the county.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Vital Records Section Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Colorado.

Birth

Birth records may become public records when 100 years have elapsed after the date of birth. EXCEPTION: The birth record of any individual who is known to be currently alive will remain confidential even if they are 100 years of age or greater. [8]

Marriage
Death

Death records may become public records when 75 years have elapsed after the date of death. [8]

Divorce

Places

Populated Places

Abeyta, Aguilar, Andrix, Barela, Beshoar, Boncarbo, Branson, Cokedale, Cordova Plaza, Delhi, Earl, El Moro, Engleville, Gulnare, Hoehne, Houghton, Jansen, Kim, Ludlow, Lynn, Medina Plaza, Model, Monument Park, Parras Plaza, Patterson Crossing, Reilly Canyon, Rugby, San Miguel, Segundo, Simpson, Sopris, Starkville, Stonewall, Stonewall Gap, Tercio, Thatcher, Tijeras, Tobe, Torres, Trinchera, Trinidad, Tyrone, Valdez, Valleroso, Velasquez Plaza, Vigil, Villegreen, Walts Corner, Weston, Zamara

Ghost Towns

Berwind, Del Agua, Morley, Primero, Tabaco

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 99, Las Animas County, Colorado. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 The Red Book, American State, County, and Town Sources. Edited by Alice Eichholz. (Ancestry, Provo; 3d ed, 2004.) Colorado article by Birdie Monk Holzclaw and Marsha Hoffman Rising. page 93.
  3. 3.0 3.1 William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920 (Baltimore: Genealogical Publ., 1987), 52. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 X2th.
  4. Brief County Histories (New Mexico) in RootsWeb (accessed 21 June 2012).
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Colorado Territory" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopeida at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Colorado_Territory (accessed 19 June 2012).
  6. Adrian B. Ettlinger, AniMap 3.0 : with SiteFinder U.S. place name database (Alamo, Calif.: Gold Bug, 2008), Colorado 1861 map. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL CD-ROM no. 4903.
  7. Handybook, 99, Huerfano County, Colorado.
  8. 8.0 8.1 Letter from Colorado State Registrar, Dated September 1, 2011. Policy Number 2011- 08. http://www.colorado.gov

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 November 2014, at 18:41.
  • This page has been accessed 9,553 times.