Lassen County, California GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Lassen County, California)

United States go toCaliforniago to Lassen County

Guide to Lassen County, California ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Lassen County, California
Map of California highlighting Lassen County
Location in the state of California
Map of the U.S. highlighting California
Location of California in the U.S.
Founded April 1, 1864
County Seat Susanville
Address Lassen Superior Court Hall of Justice
2610 Riverside Drive
Susanville, CA 96130
Lassen County Website


County Information

Lassen County, California Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1870 1864 1870 1850 1870 1864

County Courthouse

The new Lassen Superior Court Hall of Justice opened at their new location on Riverside Drive in May of 2012. 

The County Clerk and Recorder's Office is in the old courthouse located at 220 S. Lassen Street, Susanville, CA  96130 (phone 530.251.8216).  The County Clerk has divorce, probate court and naturalization records from 1864. The County Recorder has marriage records from 1864, land records from 1857, birth and death records from 1907, some prior to 1907 but incomplete before 1929.[2]

Historical Facts

Wikipedia has more about this subject: Lassen County, California

Parent Counties

1 April 1864: Lassen County was created from Plumas and Shasta Counties.
County seat: Susanville [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating California county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation California County Boundary Maps" (1850-1925) may be viewed for free at the website.

Records Loss

For a list of record loss in California counties see: California Counties with Burned Courthouses


Populated Places

Neighboring Counties


Bible Records



Indian Cemetery 

Lassen Cemetery

Susanville Cemetery


For tips on accessing Lassen County, California Genealogy census records online, see: California Census.

Church History and Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about California denominations, view the California Church Records wiki page.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Susanville
  • Westwood

Court Records

Crime and Criminals


Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups




Local histories are available for Lassen County, California Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section California Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See California Land and Property for additional information about early California land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.




Early migration routes to and from Lassen County, California Genealogy for emigrant settlers included:[4][5]

Military History and Records

Naturalization and Citizenship


Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Lassen County, California Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:



Probate Records

The county clerk is usually the custodian of probate records. The records include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

You can obtain copies of the original probate records (such as wills and estate files) by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for California - Lassen - Probate records.


Archives, Libraries and Museums

County Courthouse

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See [[Introduction to LDS Family History Centers|Family History Center] for more information. Search the [ online FHC director for a nearby family history center.



California tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page California Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records. The State office has records since July 1905. For earlier records, contact the County Recorder. See also How to order California Vital Records





Voting Registers

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Lassen County Historical Society
P.O. Box 321
Susanville 96130

Lassen Historical Museum
105 N. Weatherlow Street
P.O. Box 321
Susanville, CA 96130
Phone (530) 257-4584
[ website

Web Sites


  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 62-75. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lassen County, California. Page 85 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. National Park Service, "California Trail" (map) in California National Historic Trail at (accessed 5 August 2011).
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "California Trail" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at (accessed 5 August 2012).


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 September 2015, at 20:08.
  • This page has been accessed 8,709 times.