Lastingham, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes K-R Gotoarrow.png North Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Lastingham

Guide to Lastingham, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Lastingham, Yorkshire
Lastingham St Mary Yorkshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ryedale
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Pickering PLU
Registration District Helmsley; Pickering
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600; Separate records exist for Farndale beginning 1661
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Riddal
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Lastingham St Mary is an Ancient Parish in the county of Yorkshire.Other places in the parish include: Appleton le Moor, Appleton le Moors, Darley's Lodge, Dorleys Lodge, Farndale, Farndale East, Spaunton Moor, Farndale Eastside, Farndale High Quarter, Hutton le Hole, Rosedale West Side, Spaunton, Spaunton Lodge, and Farndale East Side.

The church of St Mary has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

Lastingham is a village and civil parish in the Ryedale District of North Yorkshire Lastingham Wikipedia

LASTINGHAM (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Pickering, wapentake of Ryedale, N. riding of York; comprising the townships of Appleton-le-Moors, Farndale East-side, Hutton-le-Hole, Lastingham, Rosedale West-side, and Spaunton. There is a chapel of ease at Farndale East-side, and at Appleton-le-Moorsand Hutton-le-Hole are places of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Records from the Ryedale registration district held at the North Yorkshire Registration Service are included in the online index available at Yorkshire BMD for post 1837 events; view the coverage table to check progress on the availability of index search.

Marriages include

  • Church of England marriages.
  • Civil Marriages at register offices, or non-conformist churches where a registrar was required to be present at the ceremony.
  • Authorised Person marriages. These cover the non-conformist places of worship which applied to keep their own registers as a result of the Marriage Act, 1898 (bringing them into line with Jewish and Quaker marriages which had this status since 1837). In such cases an 'Authorised Person' (usually the minister or priest) recorded the ceremony instead of the registrar. Earlier weddings in these places would be included with civil marriage registers.

A secondary index of Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD however this secondary index may omit the event and may not contain the detail of the Yorkshire BMD index

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Lastingham exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Internet Archive - free
FS = FamilySearch.org
AC = http://www.ancestry.com/ (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org - free
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
LASTINGHAM PARISH (1721) Online Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1721-1874 1721-1867 None
JOIN None 1796-1837 None
AC None None None


List of Chapelries in this Parish

Deposited parish registers at North Yorkshire record Office for Lastingham Bap 1559-1847 Marr 1559-1895 Bur 1559-1879

Bishop's Transcripts: 1600, 1602, 1627, 1630-1641, 1661-1673, 1675, 1677, 1679, 1681-1686,1688-1696, 1698, 1700-1751, 1753-1842, 1846-1871, 1873-1876There are separate BTs for the demolished Chapel of Farndale for the years: 1661-1664

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464235.

Poor Law Unions

Pickering Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 30-33. Date accessed: 21 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:07.
  • This page has been accessed 1,678 times.