Latchford St James, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Latchford St James

Guide to Latchford St James, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Contents

Part of this parish is in Lancashire. See also Latchford St James, Lancashire.

Parish history

LATCHFORD, a chapelry, in the parish of Grappenhall, union of Warrington, hundred of Bucklow, N. division of the county of Chester. The late chapel, dedicated to St. James, was consecrated in 1781.The village stands on the river Mersey, at the boundary with Lancashire, it is 1 mile SE of Warrington; it is partly within Warrington borough; and has a station on the Manchester, Lymm, and Warrington railway. The post-town is, Warrington. There are chapels for Baptists and Primitive Methodists.[1] [2]

Latchford St James is an Ecclesiastical Parish partly in Cheshire and partly in Lancashire. It was created in 1796 from the Lancashire part of Grappenhall Ancient Parish (Cheshire). The church is located on Wilderspool Causeway.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241234.

Church records

Latchford St James parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Latchford St James Parish (1777) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1777-1914
1833-1906

FS PR's 1777-1909
  NONE
1833-1934
  NONE
1782-1917
  NONE
FS BT'S 1784-1882
  NONE
1833-1840
  NONE
1784-1841
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers for St. James' Church, Latchford, 1777-1970 St. James Latchford was a chapelry in the parish of Grappenhall. Some records are identified as St. James Warrington which was a district and parish surrounding and contiguous to Grappenhall.
Cheshire Record Office reference: P147/1-4, 6; P147/3364/1-3; P147/3364/1/2, P147/3364/2/2-4, P147/3364/3/2.

An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online in FamilySearch Historical Records (formerlyRecord Search)

Parish registers Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1777-1851. Burials, 1782-1812. BRITISH 1656401 Items 8 - 10
Baptisms, 1851-1914. Marriages, 1833-1910. Burials, 1813-1917. BRITISH 1656402
Baptisms, 1914-1942. Marriages, 1910-1931. VAULT BRITISH 2191574 Items 5 - 7
Marriages, Aug. 1931-1944. Burials, 1917-1961. VAULT BRITISH 2191575 Items 1 - 2

Parish registers for Christ Church, Latchford, 1863-1940 Cheshire Record Office reference: P249/1, P249/2/1-4.

Parish registers Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1863-1902. Marriages, 1866-1940 (4 registers). BRITISH 2105799 Items 6 - 10

Bishop's transcripts for Latchford, 1784-1882 Latchford is a chapelry in the parish of Grappenhall. The name of the church is St. James.Cheshire Record Office reference: EDB 124

An index for Cheshire, Church of England, Bishop’s Transcripts (Diocese of Chester) is available online in FamilySearch Historical Records (formerly Record Search)

Bishop's transcripts Content FHL Film
Baptisms, burials, 1784-1814, 1816-1832, 1837, 1841. Baptisms, 1815, 1851, 1882. Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1833-1836; 1838-1840. BRITISH 1647517 Item 4

Non-Conformists Churches

  • Primitive Methodist
  • Society of Friends/Quaker.
  • Baptists

Civil registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Runcorn (1837-45)
  • Warrington (1845-98)

Poor Law Union

  • Runcorn (1837-45)
  • Warrington (1845-98)

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England 1848, adapted 22 March 2013
  2. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales )1870-72). Date Accessed: 22 March 2013
  3. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:48.
  • This page has been accessed 1,422 times.