Laughton en le Morthen, Yorkshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Laughton en le Morthen, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Laughton en le Morthen, Yorkshire|
|Hundred||Strafforth and Tickhill|
|Poor Law Union||Rotherham|
|Parish registers: 1561; Separate registers exist for Throapham beginning 1547|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1601; Separate records exist for Throapham beginning 1601|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Chancellor of York with the Prebendal Jurisdiction of Laughton en le Morthen|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
LAUGHTON-EN-LE-MORTHEN (All Saints), a parish, in the unions of Rotherham and Worksop, S. division of the wapentake of Strafforth and Tickhill. W. riding of York, 6 miles (E. S. E.) from Rotherham. Here is a place of worship for Independents. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of Laughton en le Morthen exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|FMP= FindMyPast - (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|LAUGHTON EN LE MORTHEN PARISH Online Records|
|LETWELL CHAPELRY Online Records|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464278.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 14 May 2015, at 14:47.
- This page has been accessed 2,512 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News