Lawrence County, AlabamaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Alabama
Lawrence County
Guide to Lawrence County Alabama genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Lawrence County, Alabama | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Alabama in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | February 6, 1818 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Moulton |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Lawrence County Courthouse 14330 Court Street Moulton, AL 35650 Phone: (256) 974-2432 County Website |
Contents
|
County Courthouse
Probate Judge has marriage, divorce, probate and land records from 1810
Clerk Circuit Court has court records [1]
History
Parent County
1818--Lawrence County was created 6 February 1818 from the Cherokee, Chickasaw and Choctaw Cession of 1816.
County seat: Moulton [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
1859 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged.
For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:
- Burned Counties Research in FamilySearch Wiki
- Michael John Neill, Burned Counties in Family History Circle
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Biography
- Northern Alabama, Historical and Biographical. Birmingham, Ala.: Smith and De Land, 1888. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online. Lawrence County, Alabama begins on page 66.
Cemeteries
- Abernathy Cemetery
- Aldridge Cemetery
- Alexander Cemetery
- Alexander Cemetery
- Almon Cemetery
- Andrew Garth Memorial Cemetery
- Arbor Cemetery
- Asherbranner Cemetery
- Ashford Cemetery
- Ashford Cemetery
- Ashford Cemetery (Huntsville)
- Bain Cemetery
- Baker Cemetery
- Baker Cemetery
- Barclay Cemetery
- Barnes Cemetery
- Beavers Cemetery
- Berry Cemetery
- Blackground Cemetery
- Black Ground Cemetery
- Bobo Cemetery
- Bobo Cemetery (Franklin)
- Bogar Cemetery
- Brickhouse Cemetery
- Brides Hill Cemetery
- Bunyan Hill Cemetery
- Byars Cemetery
- Bynum Cemetery
- Byrd Cemetery
- Cal Cemetery
- Cal Cemetery (Colbert)
- Cave Spring Cemetery
- Center Cemetery
- Center Church Cemetery
- Cheatham Cemetery
- Cheatham Cemetery
- Childers Cemetery
- Childers Cemetery (Morgan)
- Clardy Cemetery
- Clardy Cemetery
- Conner Cemetery
- Cooper Cemetery
- Cooper Cemetery (Lauderdale)
- Cooper Cemetery (Morgan)
- Cottingham Cemetery
- Cramer Cemetery
- Davenport Cemetery
- Davis Cemetery
- Davis Cemetery (Browns Ferry Rd)
- Davis Cemetery (Franklin)
- Dement Cemetery
- Dement Cemetery (Limestone)
- Dobbins Cemetery
- Dossey Cemetery
- Early Cemetery
- Ebenezer Cemetery
- Ebenezer Cemetery (Cullman)
- Ebenezer Cemetery (Falkville)
- Ebenezer Cemetery (Morgan)
- Elliott Cemetery
- Elliott Cemetery
- Elmwood Cemetery
- Ennix Cemetery
- Ferguson Cemetery
- Flower Hill Cemetery
- Foster Cemetery
- Foster-Davis Cemetery
- Friendship Cemetery
- Friendship Cemetery (Cullman)
- Friendship Cemetery (Franklin)
- Fuller Cemetery
- Fuqua Cemetery
- Gargas Cemetery
- Gibson Cemetery
- Gibson Cemetery
- Gibson Cemetery
- Gibson Cemetery
- Gilchrist Cemetery
- Gordon Cemetery
- Graham Cemetery
- Graves Cemetery
- Green Hill Cemetery
- Gum Pond Cemetery
- Hacklin Cemetery
- Hampton Cemetery
- Hampton Cemetery
- Hawkins Cemetery
- Heflin Cemetery
- Hill Cemetery
- Hill Cemetery
- Hill Cemetery
- Hodges Cemetery
- Hodges Cemetery (Hodges)
- Hodges Cemetery (Limestone)
- Houston Cemetery
- Houston Cemetery (Lauderdale)
- Houston Cemetery (Limestone)
- Houston Cemetery (Morgan)
- Hughes Cemetery
- Jetton Cemetery
- Jobe Cemetery
- Johnson Cemetery
- Johnson Cemetery (Athens)
- Johnson Cemetery (Flint Creek Rd)
- Johnson Cemetery (Limestone-Johnson Cemetery Rd)
- Johnson Cemetery (Limestone-Mooresville Rd)
- Johnson Cemetery (Limestone-Williams Rd)
- Johnson Cemetery (Morgan)
- Johnson Cemetery (Winston)
- Jones Cemetery
- Jones Chapel Cemetery Graveshelter
- Kelly Cemetery
- Key Cemetery (Lauderdale)
- Key Cemetery (Morgan)
- Key Cemetery (Morgan-Nat Key Rd)
- Keys Cemetery
- Keys in Aldridge Grove Cemetery
- King Cemetery
- King Cemetery (Colbert)
- King Cemetery (Colbert-King Bridge Rd)
- Kitchens Cemetery
- Landersville Cemetery
- Lebanon Cemetery
- Lee Cemetery
- Lindsey Cemetery
- Locklayer Cemetery
- Long Cemetery
- Love Cemetery
- Lyle Cemetery
- Macedonia Cemetery
- Macedonia Cemetery (Cullman)
- Macedonia Cemetery (Franklin-Co Rd 27)
- Macedonia Cemetery (Franklin-Co Rd 99)
- Macedonia Cemetery (Lawrence-Co Rd 2)
- Macedonia Cemetery (Morgan)
- Masterson Cemetery
- Mathews Cemetery
- Mayes Cemetery
- McBride Cemetery
- McDonald Cemetery
- McLemore Cemetery
- Milam Cemetery
- Miller Cemetery
- Miller Cemetery (Hackleburg)
- Miller Cemetery (Lauderdale)
- Miller Cemetery (Lawrence)
- Montgomery Cemetery
- Moody Cemetery
- Morgan-Thompson Cemetery
- Morris Chapel Cemetery
- Moulton Municipal Cemetery
- Mount Olive Cemetery
- Newman Cemetery
- Old Friendship Cemetery
- Old Prospect Cemetery
- Owens Cemetery
- Owens Cemetery
- Paff Cemetery
- Penny Cemetery
- Perkins Cemetery
- Pippen Cemetery
- Pointer Cemetery
- Poplar Spring Cemetery
- Porter Cemetery
- Preuit Cemetery
- Preuit Cemetery (Colbert)
- Providence Cemetery
- Puckett Cemetery
- Rainwater Cemetery
- Red Hill Cemetery
- Reynolds Cemetery
- Roberts Cemetery
- Roberts Cemetery (Morgan-Brown Rd)
- Roberts Cemetery (Morgan-Co Rd 87)
- Rocky Hill Cemetery
- Roden Cemetery
- Rutherford Cemetery
- Rutherford Cemetery (Limestone)
- Sanderson Cemetery
- Scruggs Cemetery
- Shackelford Cemetery
- Sheffield Cemetery
- Sherrod Cemetery
- Shiloh Cemetery
- Shiloh Cemetery (Marion)
- Shiloh Cemetery (Morgan)
- Shiloh Cemetery (Winston)
- Simms Cemetery
- Sivley Cemetery
- Smith Cemetery
- Smith Cemetery (Brown's Ferry Rd)
- Smith Cemetery
- Smith Cemetery (Co Rd 80)
- Smith Cemetery (Franklin)
- Smith Cemetery (Franklin-Hwy 24)
- Smith Cemetery (Limestone)
- Smith Family Cemetery
- Speake Cemetery
- Spring Hill Cemetery
- Stephenson Cemetery
- Stover Cemetery
- Stover Cemetery (Hwy 36)
- String Cemetery
- Swoope Cemetery (Browns Ferry Rd)
- Swoope Cemetery
- Swoope Cemetery (Co Rd 388)
- Sykes Cemetery
- Sykes Cemetery
- Sykes Cemetery
- Sykes Cemetery (Decatur)
- Tapsville Cemetery
- Templeton Cemetery
- Terry Cemetery
- Terry Cemetery
- Terry Cemetery
- Thompson Cemetery
- Thompson Cemetery
- Thompson Cemetery
- Thompson Cemetery (Lauderdale)
- Thompson Cemetery (Lauderdale Co Rd 81)
- Thompson Cemetery (Colbert)
- Thrasher Cemetery
- Town Creek Cemetery
- Trotter Cemetery
- Troupe Cemetery
- Troupe Cemetery (Morgan)
- Truitt Cemetery
- Tweedy Cemetery
- Vaughan Cemetery
- Vaughn Cemetery (Lauderdale)
- Wade Cemetery
- Wade Cemetery (Franklin)
- Warren Cemetery
- Warren Cemetery
- Watkins Cemetery
- Watkins Cemetery (Lauderdale)
- Watson Cemetery
- Watson Cemetery (Franklin)
- Wear Cemetery
- Westmoreland Cemetery
- Wheeler Cemetery
- Wheeler Cemetery
- Wilborn Cemetery
- Woodard Cemetery
- Yates Cemetery
- String Cemetery, Town Creek BillionGraves
- Cemetery Records: Barbour County with Cherokee & Lawrence Counties Alabama, Vol. 3. 1966. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free. Includes Hickory Grove Cumberland Presbyterian Church Cemetery, Mt. Hope Methodist Church Cemetery, Owens Cemetery, Rock Springs Presbyterian Church Cemetery, Smith Cemetery, Templeton Cemetery, Wear Cemetery, and Young Town Cemetery.
- Douthat, James L. Wheeler Reservoir Cemeteries. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press. Free surname index and publisher's bookstore at Mountain Press.
Census
| Lawrence County, Alabama | ||
|---|---|---|
| Year | Pop. | %± |
| 1820 | 8,652 | — |
| 1830 | 14,984 | 73.2% |
| 1840 | 13,313 | −11.2% |
| 1850 | 15,258 | 14.6% |
| 1860 | 13,975 | −8.4% |
| 1870 | 16,658 | 19.2% |
| 1880 | 21,392 | 28.4% |
| 1890 | 20,725 | −3.1% |
| 1900 | 20,124 | −2.9% |
| 1910 | 21,984 | 9.2% |
| 1920 | 24,307 | 10.6% |
| 1930 | 26,942 | 10.8% |
| 1940 | 27,880 | 3.5% |
| 1950 | 27,128 | −2.7% |
| 1960 | 24,501 | −9.7% |
| 1970 | 27,281 | 11.3% |
| 1980 | 30,170 | 10.6% |
| 1990 | 31,513 | 4.5% |
| 2000 | 34,803 | 10.4% |
| 2010 | 34,339 | −1.3% |
For individual censuses, see:
- Parsly, Mrs. Lewis F. 1820 Census Lawrence County Alabama Territory. n.d. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
- 1820 State Census of Lawrence County, Alabama. Huntsville, Ala.: The Tennessee Valley Genealogical Society, Inc., 1977. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
Church Records
Court Records
Land and Property
Local Histories
- Gentry, Dorothy. Life and Legend of Lawrence County Alabama. Tuscaloosa, Ala., 1962. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
Maps
Military
Civil War
Civil War service men from Lawrence County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Lawrence County.
- - 4th Regiment, Alabama Cavalry (Roddy's), Company A and B
- - 4th Regiment, Alabama Cavalry (Roddy's), Company D
- - 5th Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company C
- - 9th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company C "Pope Walker Guards"
- - 16th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company B, F and I
- - 27th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company D and I
- - 35th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company C and H
- Alabama, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865
- Alabama, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865
Newspapers
Periodicals
- Valley Leaves. 1966–. Published by the Tennessee Valley Genealogical Society, P.O. Box 1568, Huntsville, Alabama 35807. FHL Book 976.19 B2v. Website identifies articles relating to Lawrence County, Alabama (click "Search by County").
Probate Records
- 1866-1880 Index to Wills of Lawrence Co., Alabama at USGenWeb.org. Contributed by Sandra Beaver.
Taxation
- 1865-1866 - U.S. IRS Tax Assessment Lists, 1862-1918 at Ancestry ($). Lawrence County is in District 3.
Vital Records
Birth
Marriage
- To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry – ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
- To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry – ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
- 1808, 1818–1884, 1888–1889, 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800–1969 at Ancestry – ($); Index. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears.
- 1808, 1818–1884, 1888–1889, 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800–1969 at Ancestry – ($); Index. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears.
- 1818–1884 "Alabama Marriages, 1809–1920" at Ancestry – ($); Index. This database is a collection of marriage records from the state. Researchers will find the names of both bride and groom along with the marriage date. The county where the ceremony was performed is also provided. Containing about 150,000 records and the names of nearly 300,000 men and women.
- 1818–1884 "Alabama Marriages, 1809–1920" at Ancestry – ($); Index. This database is a collection of marriage records from the state. Researchers will find the names of both bride and groom along with the marriage date. The county where the ceremony was performed is also provided. Containing about 150,000 records and the names of nearly 300,000 men and women.
- 1828-1928 - Lawrence County Marriage Books L-Q Index 1828-1928 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Death
- 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry – ($); Index. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.
- 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry – ($); Index. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.
- 1908–1959 Index to Deaths recorded by the state of Alabama at Ancestry – ($); Index. The index includes name of the deceased, county of death, date of death, and the state certificate number (volume and page).
- 1908–1959 Index to Deaths recorded by the state of Alabama at Ancestry – ($); Index. The index includes name of the deceased, county of death, date of death, and the state certificate number (volume and page).
- 1908-1974 - Alabama, Deaths, 1908-1974 at FamilySearch Historical Records Collection - free
Vital Record Substitutes
A free collection of obituaries and death notices from various funeral homes in the Lawrence County area has been put together by GenealogyBuffs.com:
Voting Registers
Alabama Voting Registers for 1867 are available online at the Alabama Department of Archives and History. Lawrence County has one book.
Societies and Libraries
Libraries
Lawrence County Public Library
401 College Street
Moulton, Alabama 35650
Telephone: 256-974-0883
Family History Centers
Lawrence County Alabama Genealogy Websites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- USGenWeb Archives Project ~ contains record transcriptions from Bibles, obituaries, court records and more.
- Lawrence County ALGenWeb ~ record transcriptions and information pertinent to the county.
- Lawrence County, Alabama Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
Lawrence County Alabama Genealogy References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lawrence County p. 38. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/c/cf/Igialabamals.pdf.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 29 April 2013, at 23:58.
- This page has been accessed 3,119 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

