Lawrence County, ArkansasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Lawrence County

Guide to Lawrence County Arkansas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Arkansas State with State Seal.png Arkansas
Online Records


Lawrence County, Arkansas
Map
Map of Arkansas highlighting Lawrence County
Location in the state of Arkansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 15, 1815
County Seat DeWitt
Courthouse
Address Lawrence County Courthouse
PO Box 553, 315 W Main;
Walnut Ridge, AR 72476
Phone: 870.886.1111


Contents

County Courthouse

Lawrence County Courthouse
PO Box 553, 315 W Main;
Walnut Ridge, AR 72476
Phone: 870.886.1111

County Clerk has marriage and probate records.[1]

Beginning years for Lawrence County, Arkansas government records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate
1914* 1821 1914* 1816 1815 1817
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

History

Parent County

County seat: Walnut Ridge [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Arkansas counties see: Arkansas Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Craighead  • Greene  • Independence  • Jackson  • Randolph  • Sharp

Lawrence CountyClay CountyGreene CountyCraighead CountyPoinsett CountyJackson CountyIndependence CountySharp CountyRandolph CountyCrittenden CountyCross CountyWoodruff CountyWhite CountyCleburne CountyStone CountyIzard CountyFulton CountyARLawrence.JPG

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Online Lawrence County, Arkansas cemeteries from state and national resources
Search for names of people
(County-wide)
Get a list of cemeteries
(Most click to names of people)
Find published records
(Often more complete)
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" on the left, change the name, then "Search"
  • Billion Graves Change the name, then "Search" (Statewide, many counties nil)
  • ARGenWeb Select a county, then "Cemeteries." Some overlap with USGenWeb.

More cemetery lists


Census

1820 is missing

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Arkansas denominations, view the Arkansas Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Arkansas Land and Property for additional information about early Arkansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

http://files.usgwarchives.net//ar/lawrence/land/lawrence.txt Lawrence County Federal Land Records] USGenWeb Archives

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Lawrence County, Arkansas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were gleaned from Arkansas County - The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture [1]

  • The Osage Indians hunted in what would become Lawrence County, although they had no settlements there.
  • Arkansas became United States territory with the Louisiana Purchase.
  • 1800s (early) - White settlers first inhabited the county’s western regions
  • 1815 January 15 - Lawrence County was created. The “Mother of Counties,” Lawrence County once covered a majority of north Arkansas, an enormous stretch of land ultimately forming thirty-one counties.
  • 1816 - The earliest important settlement was at Davidsonville along the Black River. Named for territorial legislator John Davidson, the town served as the first county seat. Yellow fever ended the settlement.
  • 1861-1865 - During the Civil War, Lawrence County escaped damage.
  • 1800s (mid) - Powhatan experienced explosive growth and soon sported mills, shops, and hotels. Because of this growth, it became the county seat in 1869.
  • 1940-2010 - Lawrence County population hit its high mark in 1940 (22,600) and has a slow decline to a prsent (2010) low mark of 17,400.

Maps

Military

Revolutionary War
  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Arkansas, Lawrence County on page 191.]
Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Lawrence County, Arkansas served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Lawrence County, Arkansas:

- 1st Regiment, Arkansas Mounted Rifles (Confederate)[4], Company E
- 7th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)[5]
- 8th Battalion, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Companies Cand G
- 38th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate),
- 45th Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Confederate)[6],
- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Union)[7], Companies C and E

Naturalization

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Lawrence County, Arkansas newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Probate records of Arkansas have been kept by the probate or county courts. You can obtain copies of the original records by contacting the clerk's office in the county courthouse.

The Family History Library has microfilm copies of many Arkansas probate records. See Arkansas Probate Records for more information about Probate records in Arkansas, including statewide indexes.

  • Probate Records 1817-1969 Part of: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration and guardian bonds and letters 1859-1927; Administration bonds and letters 1839-1866; Administration records 1821-1873; Dockets 1873-1906; Indentures and articles of incorporation 1883-1904; Probate packets 1820-1885; Probate records 1833-1894; Wills 1817-1885.

Taxation

Arkansas tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years for some counties. For more information see Arkansas Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arkansas Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online. See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
ARGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Lawrence County, Arkansas
RootsWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Lawrence County, Arkansas
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Arkansas History Commission AR state agency involved in organizing and maintaining state and local history of AR
See also local libraries and Arkansas Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Lawrence County, Arkansas
GeneaBloggers enter "arkansas" in the search box to see a list and links to Arkansas Blogs
Google+ list of groups from "arkansas genealogy" search
Facebook list of groups from "Arkansas Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Lawrence County, AR Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Lawrence County Message Board

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 68.
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Desmond Walls Allen, First Arkansas Confederate Mounted Rifles, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1988), p. 2. FHL book 976.7 M2a
  5. Desmond Walls Allen, The Seventh Arkansas Confederate Infantry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1988) FHL book 976.7 M22adw
  6. Desmond Walls Allen, Forty-fifth Arkansas Confederate Calvary, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1988), p. 1. FHL book 976.7 M2af
  7. Desmond Walls Allen, Third Arkansas Union Cavalry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1987), p. 33-92. FHL book 976.7 M28dc
  8. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.
  9. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/0d/Igiarkansasem.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 August 2014, at 15:00.
  • This page has been accessed 10,627 times.