Lawrence County, IllinoisEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png IllinoisGotoarrow.png Lawrence County

Guide to Lawrence County Illinois genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Illinois
Online Records


Lawrence County, Illinois
Map
Boundary map of Lawrence County, Illinois
Map of the U.S. highlighting Illinois
Location of Illinois in the U.S.
Facts
Founded: January 16, 1821
County Seat Lawrenceville
Courthouse
Lawrence County Courthouse.gif
Photo courtesy Illinois Regional Archives Depository, Illinois State Archives
Address Lawrence County Courthouse
1100 State Street
Lawrenceville, IL 62439
618-943-2346
Lawrence County Website
 

Contents

County Organization

Lawrence County's civil records start the following years:

                                     Beginning Dates for Lawrence County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1878
1821
1878
1830
1818
1821


County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Lawrence County are kept, see the Lawrence County Courthouse page.

Historical Facts

James Lawrence.JPG

Lawrence County is named for Captain James Lawrence who was mortally wounded while commanding the USS Chesapeake in the War of 1812. He is best known for his dying command "Don't give up the ship!" [1]

Parent County

  • 1821--Lawrence County was created 16 January 1821 from Crawford and Edwards Counties.

County seat: Lawrenceville [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Illinois county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Illinois County Boundary Maps" (1790-1869) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Illinois counties see: Illinois Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Records and Resources

Biography

  • Toussaint Dubois played an important role in the early history of Lawrence County.
  • USGenWeb, Lawrence County, Illinois (ILGenWeb), Pioneer Biographies
  • The Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois has a Lawrence County edition. This includes a state history section along with a county history and biographies of Lawrence County residents. See the wiki article for links to available copies and indexes.

Cemeteries

Gotoarrow.png Illinois Cemeteries for more information.

Illinois cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.

  • Find A Grave can be searched by the name of a person or family to find where a person is buried.  Usually gives birth and death dates often with a picture of the tombstone.  May give obituaries, names of family members and links to their information in Find A Grave.
  • Database of 1929 Illinois Roll of Honor, created by Fred Delap and donated to the Illinois State Archives.  Illinois burial locations of over 72,000 military personnel who served in U.S. wars.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.
190016,523
191022,66137.1%
192021,380−5.7%
193021,8852.4%
194021,075−3.7%
195020,539−2.5%
196018,540−9.7%
197017,522−5.5%
198017,8071.6%
199015,972−10.3%
200015,452−3.3%
IL Counties 1900-1990

1840 Pensioners

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. Washington, D.C., 1841. FHL 973 X2pc 1840; FHL 2321; digital version at Google Books. [See Illinois, Lawrence County on page 187.]

Church Records

  • USGenWeb, Lawrence County, Illinois (ILGenWeb), Churches of Lawrence County

Abstracts

  • 1865–1965 Allison Prairie Church of the Brethren. Allison Prairie, 1865-1965 : 100th anniversary, Sunday, July 25, 1965. [S.l. : s.n.], 1965. FHL film 874276 Item 6

Copies of Original records

Catholic

FamilySearch has made parish records from three Belleville Diocese Catholic churches in Lawrence County available online. The records include first communions, confirmations, marriages, and deaths:

Court Records

Original court records are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Court Records for more information about using court records.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Eastern Illinois University (EIU) - search for Lawrence County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the EIU IRAD Wiki page.

  • 1835-1948 Justice of the Peace Dockets IRAD-EIU

Ethnic Research

African American

The following have information concerning African American research.

Genealogy

History

The Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois has a Lawrence County edition. This includes a state history section along with a county history and biographies of Lawrence County residents. See the wiki article for links to available copies and indexes.

Land and Property

Original land records are held in the office of the County Clerk . See Illinois Land and Property for more information about using land records.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through online sources, the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Eastern Illinois University (EIU) - search for Lawrence County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the EIU IRAD Wiki page.

Copies of Original Records

Abstracts

  • Family Maps. Boyd, Gregory A. Family Maps of Lawrence County, Illinois (Norman, Oklahoma: Arphax Pub. Co., c2009.) WorldCat 312129967FHL book 977.376 E7b
  • Land Atlas and plat book Rockford Map Publishers (Rockford, Illinois) Land atlas and plat book, Lawrence County, Illinois, 1983 (Rockford, Illinois:Rockford Map Publishers, c1982.) Other Libraries; FHL Book 977.376 E7L
  • Early trails and settlements Satterhwaite, Geralding and Richard L. Palmer Early trails and settlements of Lawrence Co., Illinois ([S.I.]: G. Satterthwaite and R.L. Palmer, 1996) Other Libraries; FHL Book 977.376 E6s

Online Resources

Maps

Illawrence.jpg

Military

  • The Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois has a Lawrence County edition. This includes a state history section along with a county history and biographies of Lawrence County residents. See the wiki article for links to available copies and indexes.
  • Database of 1929 Illinois Roll of Honor, created by Fred Delap and donated to the Illinois State Archives.  Illinois burial locations of over 72,000 military personnel who served in U.S. wars.

Civil War

Civil War service men from Lawrence County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Lawrence County.

- 8th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (3 months, 1861), Company I.
- 36th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company C.
- 61st Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies H and K.
- 62nd Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company A.
- 66th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company I.
- 70th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company K.
- 91st Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company F.
- 130th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company I.
- 154th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company E.
  • Satterthwaite, Geraldine, and Terry Warren. Civil War Men, Lawrence Co. Bridgeport, Ill. (?: G. Satterthwaite, 2000). A list of civil war young men from Lawrence county taken from the original County Civil War records that have been lost. Library with this book.


Naturalization

Newspapers and Obituaries

Probate Records

Original estates and wills are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Probate Records for more information about using probate records.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through the Family History Library

[No probate record holdings noted in IRAD-EIU Lawrence County Listing.] Search for Lawrence County records. Information about how to use IRAD

Repositories

See also a List of Illinois Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

County Courthouse

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Lawrence County are kept, see the Lawrence County Courthouse page.

Family History Centers

There are over 4500 Family History Centers worldwide which serve as branch facilities of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah.  Volunteers provide research assistance to help patrons identify their ancestors.  Microfilm and microfiche may be ordered from the FHL collection at a nominal cost.  Locate your nearest Family History Center at the FamilySearch website.  Call ahead to verify operating hours.  All are welcome.

The following centers are accessible to residents of Lawrence County, Illinois:

Linton Indiana Family History Center
1000 W Lone Tree Rd
Linton, Greene, Indiana
Phone: 812-847-9044
Hours: Wed. 6 - 9 pm, Sat 9 - 2 
 
Terre Haute Indiana Family History Center
1845 N 6 1/2 St
Terre Haute, Vigo, Indiana
Phone: 812-234-0269
Hours: Tue 6:30 p.m. - 8 p.m.
Closed: Mondays after 6:00 p.m., all major holidays, inclement weather, whenever Vigo schools are on delays or early dismissals.
Attention: The Center is also available by appointment.

Vincennes Indiana Family History Center
1940 N Old Hwy 41
Vincennes, Knox, Indiana
Phone: 812-882-4022
Hours: T, Thu 9am-12:30pm, 5pm-8:30pm
Closed: Closed 1 1/2 weeks for Christmas

Please note: Addresses posted are not mailing addresses. Due to limited staff, Family History Centers are unable to respond to mail inquiries.

Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD)

The Illinois State Archives administers a system of Illinois Regional Archives Depositories (IRAD) to manage the archival records of local governments.  Local governments which have transferred records to the regional depositories include counties, townships, municipalities, and school districts.  The records of Lawrence County come under the jurisdiction of the Eastern Illinois University (EIU) regional depository.

Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD)
Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University (EIU)
600 Lincoln Avenue
Charleston, IL 61920
Telephone: (217) 581-6093

Hours: Monday – Friday, except state holidays
9:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.; 1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Note: The depository is staffed by graduate student interns. Because of class scheduling conflicts, hours may vary somewhat from the published schedule. Researchers are urged to call before planning a visit.

Libraries

Lawrence County Public Library
814 12th St.
Lawrenceville, IL 62439
Phone: (618) 943-3016
Hours: M-W-F 12 noon-5 pm; T-TH 12 noon-6 pm; Sat 10 am-3 pm

The Library contains a varied genealogical collection including (but not limited to): marriage indexes, obituaries, biographies, local county histories, newspapers on microfilm, and census records on microfilm (1830-1920) and in book form (1850-1880 w/indexes).  USGenWeb, Lawrence County, Illinois, Libraries

Irene Black Genealogical Library
125 E. Olive
Bridgeport, IL 62417
Phone: (618) 945-7113
Hours: M-F 2 pm -5 pm

Social Groups Online

Societies

Lawrence County Historical Society (LCHS)
P.O. Box 425
Lawrenceville IL 62439
(618) 943-1200
e-mail: history@umfleet.net
The Lawrence County Historical Society was organized in 1961 for the collection and preservation of Lawrence County history. Lawrence Lore is the Lawrence County, Illinois Historical Society blog. Each day the editor posts articles about Lawrence County history. Research is from primary sources. Names of individuals are included. Articles include biographies, obits, military records, business owners, as well as general news items. Finding aids are provided in the form of topic names as well as a search engine to use for specific names. Photographs are included in web albums such as identified school pictures.

Genealogical Society of Southern Illinois has a page with details about its' activities.

Taxation

The following copies of original records may be accessed through the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Eastern Illinois University (EIU) - search for Lawrence County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the EIU IRAD Wiki page.

Vital Records

See Illinois Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Illinois. See also How to order Illinois Vital Records or order electronically online.

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Original birth and death certificates recorded until the year 1916 are kept by the Lawrence County Clerk while those recorded after 1916 are kept by the Illinois Department of Public Health with a copy to the County Clerk. Original marriage records are usually kept by the County Clerk from the establishment of the county to the present. Original divorce records are generally in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through online databases, the Family History Library and the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Eastern Illinois University (EIU) - search for Lawrence County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the EIU IRAD Wiki page.

Births

Copies of Original Records

  • 1878-1923 Vital records FHL Film 1311874–1311880 Index to birth records 1878-1911 and Birth records Book 1-8 1877-1923.
  • 1889-1970 Birth Certificates - IRAD-EIU
  • 1877-1923 Birth Record - IRAD-EIU
  • 1877-1911 Birth Record Index – IRAD-EIU
  • 1890-1921 Birth Record Index, Delayed - IRAD-EIU
  • 1896-1852 Birth Record, Corrected - IRAD-EIU
  • 1882-1972 Birth Record, Delayed - IRAD-EIU

Marriages

Copies of Original Records

  • 1878-1937 Vital records FHL Film 1311872–1311873 Index to marriage records 1878-1937 (Alphabetical by the groom's surname)and marriage records Book 1-4 1878-1933
  • 1909–1971 Marriage License Applications IRAD-EIU
  • 1937-1970 Marriage Licenses IRAD-EIU
  • 1821–1937 Marriage Record IRAD-EIU
  • 1821-1970 Marriage Record Index IRAD-EIU

Abstracts

Online Resources

Deaths

Copies of Original Records

Abstracts

  • 1860,1870,1880 Compiled by the Richland County Genealogical and Historical Society (Olney, Illinois) Mortality Schedules, 1860, 1870, 1880 ([S.I.:s.n.], 1978.) WorldCat 10753176; FHL Book 977.37 X2m

Online Resources

Web Sites

Databases pertinent to Lawrence County

References

  1. James Lawrence Wikipedia
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), 195. (FHL Collection Ref Book 973 D27e 2002). WorldCat entry.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 July 2014, at 16:30.
  • This page has been accessed 8,574 times.