Lawrence County, MissouriEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png Lawrence County

Guide to Lawrence County Missouri genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Missouri
Online Records


Lawrence County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 14, 1845
County Seat Mount Vernon
Courthouse
Address Lawrence County Courthouse
PO Box 309
Mount Vernon, MO 65712
Phone: 417.466.2638
Lawrence County Website

Contents

County Courthouse


 

Recorder Deeds has marriage and land records from 1846;
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court records from 1846;
Probate Judge has probate records from 1846[1]

History

Parent County

1845--Lawrence County was created 14 February 1845 from Barry and Dade Counties. County seat: Mount Vernon [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Missouri counties see: Missouri Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Barry  • Christian  • Dade  • Greene  • Jasper  • Newton  • Stone

Lawrence CountyTaney CountyChristian CountyStone CountyBarry CountyGreene CountyPolk CountyDade CountyMcDonald CountyBarton CountyJasper CountyDallas CountyNewton CountyMOLawrence.JPG


Resources

Biographies

Cemeteries

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Catholic

Sacred Heart, Verona

  • 1874-1876 - Sacred Heart, Verona, Baptism Index 1874-1876. Batch C511841 at FamilySearch - free.[3]

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Lawrence County, Missouri. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

Maps

Molawrence.jpg

Military

Civil War
- 11th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company A
- 11th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company D
- 11th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company G
- 11th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company H
- 15th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company G
- 14th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company G
- 7th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), 7th Provisional Regiment, Detached
- 7th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 7th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
- 7th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
- 7th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
- 7th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company G

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Lawrence County, Missouri newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
  • 1827-1876 - Lawrence County Birth Index, Volumes A thru D, 1827-1876. Batch C515321 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Marriages
  • 1845-1868 - Lawrence County Marriage Books A thru C Index 1845-1868. Batch M515321 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1869-1885 - Lawrence County Marriage Books C and D Index 1869-1881. Batches M515322 and M515323 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Deaths


Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Libraries

Barry-Lawrence Regional Library - This library houses the genealogical book collection of the County Historical Society Walter C. McCanse Library, at Mt. Vernon, Mo.

Historical Society

Lawrence County Historical Society
Website: http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~molawre2/
Also on FaceBook

Family History Centers