Lawton Public LibraryEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States Oklahoma Comanche County Lawton Public Library
They have the largest book collection of Oklahoma genealogies together with periodicals, maps, biographies, family folders, and a statewide index to all Oklahoma Territory tract books (public land buyers). This collection comes from the combined resources of the
Southwest Oklahoma Genealogical Society (SWOGS)
Lawton Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution
and the Lawton Public Library
Contributions have also been made by the Daughters of 1812, and Southwest Oklahoma Historical Society.
They have more than 23,000 books, 150,000 microfiche, and 6000 rolls of microfilm, which include family histories, vital records, census records, and local and area newspapers from 1901.
Other collections include:
- Indian-Pioneer History Collection
- Indian records
- Oklahoma Tract Books with surname index, and research reference aids
- Dawes Roll
- 1890 Oklahoma Territorial Census
- Freedman's Bank Records
- Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies and Navies
- Southern Historical Society Papers
- Medical and Surgical History of the War of the Rebellion
- Indexes to First Landowners of Pennsylvania
- Early Connecticut Vital Records (the Barbour Collection and more)
Their Native American collection focuses on the Kiowa, Comanche, and Apache tribes and contains several important records.
For a small fee the librarians will do obituary lookups as well as lookups of indexed items. See their policy here.
Lawton Public Library
110 SW 4th Street
Lawton, OK 73501
- This page was last modified on 6 February 2015, at 03:31.
- This page has been accessed 679 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News