Laxfield, SuffolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk   Gotoarrow.png Hoxne Hundred Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk Parishes



Contents

Parish History

LAXFIELD, a village and a parish in Hoxne district, Suffolk. The village stands near the river Blythe, 6¼ miles N of Framlingham r. station; was once a markettown; and has a post office under Wickham-Market, and fairs on 12 May and 25 October. [1]



Resources

If you live in Suffolk then you will have access to a variety of resources; however, for those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at Family History Centers.   Refer to Laxfield and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalog for available records.

Civil Registration

Laxfield was in Hoxne district till 1907 at which time it was moved into Hartismere District. In 1907 Hoxne district was abolished. To search an index of Hoxne or Hartismere district records go to FreeBMD. The Suffolk Civil Registration article tells more about these records.  While the district had been created in 1837 for the purpose of recording births, deaths , and marriages, the Hundred had been in existence for hundreds of years for administrative, military, and judicial purposes.

Church records

The Parish Registers begin in 1579.  They can be view at the Suffolk Record Office.  A copy of the registers from 1579 to 1900 can be purchased from the Suffolk Record Office. For pre-1813 Bishop Transcript entries you will need to look in Hoxne Deanry, Archdeaconry of Suffolk. Parish Chest records are lacking for Laxfield. See Suffolk Church Record for further details.

Laxfield Parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been partly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years: The Suffolk Family History Society publishes their indexes on CD. Laxfield will be found on the CD for Hoxne deanery.

FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£) FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org SFHS = Suffolk Family History Society
LAXFIELD PARISH (1579) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1813-1871 1813-1837 few pre 1813
None
FMP 1813-1900 Boyd's Marriage Index also 1813-1837 National Burial Index
FREG None None None
SFHS 1813-1900 1754-1900 Suffolk Burial Index

Laxfield, Suffolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

1813 = Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[4]
Laxfield, Suffolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
1813 1813-1837
BOYD
1579-1753

NBI

1579-1900

Census records

There are census records available for Laxfield from 1841 to 1911. Census records are available on a variety of subscription and other websites. If you need to consult the 1841 to 1891 census on microfilm, refer to Laxfield census film numbers in the library catalogue.
There is statistical data available for the census years 1801 to 1931 that records the number of houses, families, people, and other statistical data for every parish in the county.
Refer to the Suffolk Census wiki article for details.

Probate records

Prior to 1858 the primary court that had jurisdiction over Laxfield was the Archdeaconry of Suffolk; however, a person’s will or administration may have been probated in nearby courts or even in London. After 1858 it was in Ipswich District.  Refer to the Suffolk Probate Records article for further details.

Maps and Gazetteers

  • Suffolk Gazetteers and Directories from 1839 to 1909 - Suffolk Gazetteers and directories provide a brief history and description of each parish and lists principal residents. They mention the farmers and tradesman in each parish and the nearest market towns among other items.
  • National Gazetteers provide a brief description of each place
    • Vision of Britain - Laxfield, is a village and a parish in Hoxne district, Suffolk. The village is near the river Blythe, it is 6¼ miles N of Framlingham railway station. [5]

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date accessed and adapted: 23 May 2014.
  2. 'Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 9 December 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.
  5. 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales. Date accessed: 30 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 22:45.
  • This page has been accessed 3,583 times.