Laxton, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png NottinghamshireGotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Contents

Parish History

Laxton, Nottinghamshire
Laxton St+Michael Nottinghamshire.JPG
Laxton St+Michael Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bassetlaw
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Southwell PLU
Registration District Southwell
Records begin
Parish registers: 1563
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newark
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

LAXTON, or Lexington (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Southwell, South Clay division of the wapentake of Bassetlaw, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 2¾ miles (S. S. W.) from Tuxford; containing, with the hamlet of Moorhouse. At Moorhouse is a chapel of ease. There is a place of worship for Independents. William Chappell.[1]

Additional information:

Laxton St Michael is an Ancient Parish which included Moorhouse; the civil parish is Laxton with Moorhouse in the Newark and Sherwood district of Nottinghamshire.Laxton Wikipedia

The parish church of St Michael High Street Edwinstowe has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Laxton St Michael Archangel parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
LAXTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL

1790-1837


Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1564-1923 Marriages 1629-1992 Burials  1524-1994 Bishop's Transcripts 1600-1848
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Laxton

Laxton, St Michael's. A transcription of Memorial Inscriptions dated from 1707,giving surname, given name, date of death, age. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol. 59, pages 25-30 , Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438901.

See Nottinghamshire Census

1811 Census - Laxton. Census of Laxton taken on 10 March 1811, showing given name, and surname head of household, and number of males, and females in each household. This was done for taking an account of the population of Great Britian. Taken from Nottinghamshire Archives Ref PR 4796/1, transcription in Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol. 95, page 16-17, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n. Also 1821 Census, includes number of children, Nottinghamshire Archives Ref PR4142, Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine vol. 95 pages 38-40, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Poor Law Unions

Southwell Poor Law Union,Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 August 2014, at 15:10.
  • This page has been accessed 866 times.