Leaton, ShropshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png ShropshireGotoarrow.pngShropshire Parishes

Guide to Leaton, Shropshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Holy Trinity Leaton Shropshire.jpg

Contents

Parish History

LEATON, a township in Shrewsbury-St. Mary parish, and a chapelry partly also in Fitz and Preston-Gubbals parishes, Shropshire. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Leaton, Shropshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Shropshire Records (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Leaton, Shropshire Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP Undefined Undefined
IGI 1859-1877

Bishop's transcripts held at Lichfield Record Office Bap 1859-1868 Marr noneBur 1860-1869 Missing all events 1865-1867

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474591.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Shropshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, Adapted. Date accessed: 20 November 2013.
  2. 'Shropshire Baptisms 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Shropshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 24 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 13 August 2014, at 17:42.
  • This page has been accessed 654 times.