Leavenworth County, KansasEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Leavenworth County, Kansas genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
|Leavenworth County, Kansas|
Location in the state of Kansas
Location of Kansas in the U.S.
|Founded||August 30, 1855|
|Address|| Leavenworth County Courthouse|
601 S. Third St. Ste 3051
Leavenworth, Kansas 66048-2781
Leavenworth County Courthouse
601 S Third St Ste 3051
Leavenworth, KS 66048-2781
Probate Judge has marriage and probate records from 1855.
Reg of Deeds has land records.
Clerk District Court has court and naturalization records from 1855. 
1855--Leavenworth County was created 30 August 1855 as an original county. County seat: Leavenworth 
The Courthouse Burned
Leavenworth County Lost a [sic] of 1871 by Fire Early This Morning.
LEAVENWORTH, Kas., March 22. - Fire which started at 1 o'clock this morning practically destroyed the courthouse of Leavenworth County. All the county records were burned. The building was built at a cost of $100,000 in 1871.
The fire started in the west side of the building in the first floor. It quickly spread all over that floor and to the top floors. The flames were fanned by a high wind which carried the sparks over the town.
The building was nearly a block long and three stories high. It was built of stone. The building was between Third and Fourth streets on Walnut.
From 7 to 9 o'clock last night two men were at work oiling the floor in the office of the clerk of the district court. The fire was discovered by William Wissler, the watchman, and the alarm turned in by him. It is supposed that a match dropped by one of the workmen may have started a small blaze. The fire soon spread from the clerk's office to the tower containing the clock. By the time the firemen and citizens arrived the building was full of smoke and flames and no one daired enter to carry out any of the records.
The Kansas City Star, Kansas City, MO, 22 Mar 1911
Prior to July 2014, some residences south of Hwy 24/40 in Leavenworth County had postal addresses of Bonner Springs, Kansas.
- Congregational Cemetery, Linwood
- Lansing Cemetery, Leavenworth
- Leavenworth National Cemetery, Leavenworth
- Mount Muncie Cemetery, Lansing
Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Kansas Church Records.
LDS Ward and Branch Records
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Kansas Land and Property for additional information about early Kansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.
Local histories are available for Leavenworth County, Kansas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Kansas Local Histories.
Early migration routes to and from Leavenworth County, Kansas for European and African American settlers included:
Leavenworth County furnished more troops in the Civil War than any other county in the State. By May 20, 1861, eighteen companies had been organized and were ready for service. These companies were known as follows: Home Guards, Leavenworth Fencibles, German Rifles, Leavenworth Guards, Emmett Guards, Steuben Guards, Delaware Guards, Delaware Rifles, Lincoln Rangers, Mounted Rifles, Leavenworth Grays, Shields Guards, Phoenix Guards, Union Guards, Leavenworth Light Infantry, Lafayette Guards, Lane Rifles, Leavenworth Rifles, Stranger Township Union Home Guards, Kickapoo Guards, Captain Black's Guards, Lyon Guards, Fourth Ward Guards, "Old Guards", Third Ward Guards, Leavenworth Mercantile Guards and Leavenworth Light Cavalry. During the Civil War men from this county enlisted in the 1st Regiment, Kansas Infantry; 7th Regiment, Kansas Cavalry;11th Regiment, Kansas Infantry; 15th Regiment, Kansas Cavalry, Companies C, F, L, and K; and the 17th Regiment, Kansas Infantry.
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Leavenworth County, Kansas newspapers in online catalogs like:
In most counties in Kansas, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Kansas, Leavenworth and click Probate records.
Kansas tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Kansas Taxation.
A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Kansas Office of Vital Statistics or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Kansas Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.
- Leavenworth County, Kansas Obituary Collection Free from GenealogyBuff.com. From Various Funeral Homes in the Leavenworth, Lansing, Fairmount, Basehor, and Tonanoxie areas.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Centers provide: • Personal one-on-one assistance • Access to genealogical records through the Internet or microfilm loan program • Free how-to classes (varies by location). See Family History Centers for more information.
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Leavenworth County, Kansas Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Leavenworth County, Kansas page 252, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ National Park Service, "(Auto Tour Route) Maps" in Oregon National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/oreg/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
- ↑ National Park Service, "(Auto Tour Route) Maps" in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
- ↑ National Park Service, "Auto Tour Route Maps" in Mormon Pioneer National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/mopi/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
- This page was last modified on 20 October 2014, at 20:18.
- This page has been accessed 6,327 times.
Share Your Opinion!
The Community Council Selection Committee is now accepting recommendations for potential council vacancies.Recommendations Page