Lebanon GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Lebanon)

Middle East Gotoarrow.png Lebanon

Guide to Lebanon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

News and Events


Topics
Other Heading
  • (bullet)


The country of Lebanon is located in Western Asia. Lebanon is between the Mediterranean Sea and Syria. While Syria also borders Lebanon on the north, Israel borders on the south.  The primary language is Arabic, with many also speaking French.  Other common languages include Aremenian, Greek, Hebrew, and English.

Getting started with Lebanon research

There is a movement among Lebanese people in a variety of communities to organize historical records and collaborate on genealogy work.

This excellent article in Genealogy Today is a good starting introduction: Lebanese Research

Jurisdictions

Lebanon is divided into six governorates and further subdivided into twenty-five districts.  The districts themselves are also divided into several municipalities, each enclosing a group of cities or villages:

Courtesy of Wiki Common Atlas

Beirut Governorate (city of Beirut only)

Nabatieh Governorate (Jabal Amel)

  • Bint Jbeil
  • Hasbaya
  • Marjeyoun
  • Nabatieh

Beqaa Governorate

  • Baalbek
  • Hermel
  • Rashaya
  • Western Beqaa (al-Beqaa al-Gharbi)
  • Zahle

North Governorate (al-Shamal)

  • Akkar
  • Batroun
  • Bsharri
  • Koura
  • Miniyeh-Danniyeh
  • Tripoli
  • Zgharta

Mount Lebanon Governorate (Jabal Lubnan)

  • Aley
  • Baabda
  • Byblos (Jbeil)
  • Chouf
  • Keserwan
  • Matn

South Governorate (al-Janoub)

  • Jezzine
  • Sidon (Saida)
  • Tyre (Sur)

Two new governorates have been approved but not yet implemented: Akkar (from Akkar District) and Baalbek-Hermel (from Baalbek District and Hermel District).


To find towns and cities, use Lebanese Gazeteer

Research Tools

The following websites and organizations are helpful in Lebanon research:

Help Wanted

In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 May 2015, at 20:12.
  • This page has been accessed 10,314 times.