Leck, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Leck, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Leck, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lonsdale
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Lunesdale PLU
Registration District Lancaster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1800
Bishop's Transcripts: 1856
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Tunstall
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

Leck (St Peter), Cowan Bridge, was created a chapel of ease in 1737 from, and lying within the boundaries of Tunstal, union of Lancaster, hundred of Lonsdale south of the Sands, N. division of the county of Lancaster, 2½ miles southeast by east of Kirkby-Lonsdale. This chapel was in existence by the year 1800.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Leck chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Tunstall to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = findmypast (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


LECK ST PETER Chapelry  (1800) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1800-1900 1849-1900 1800-1900
LOPC 1859-1900 1849-1900 1859-1900
LBMD None 1849-1976, 1979-1998 None
TUNSTALL ST JOHN THE BAPTIST PARISH (1625) Indexes (ancient parish containing LECK Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1626-1874 1625-1843 None
LOPC 1625-1846 1625-1900 1627-1884
LBMD 1837-1937 1837-1994 1837-1937
FMP None 1625-1837 None
AC 1625-1812 1625-1812 1625-1812


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Leck and comprising the whole ancient parish of Tunstall to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the TUNSTALL PARISH page.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306916.

Surname Index for 1841-1901 provided by Ingleborough Archaeology Freebooters. These surnames were gleaned from the images in Leck census enumerators books 1841-1901.


Poor Law Unions

Pre 1869

Post 1869

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 46-55. Date accessed 24 September 2013

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:05.
  • This page has been accessed 2,910 times.