Lee County, VirginiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States go to Virginia go to Lee County

Guide to Lee County Virginia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Virginia
Online Records
Lee County, Virginia
Map
Boundary map of Lee County, Virginia
Map of Virginia highlighting Lee County
Location in the state of Virginia
Map of the U.S. highlighting Virginia
Location of Virginia in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1792
County Seat Jonesville
Courthouse

Contents

Lee County, Virginia Courthouse

Lee County Courthouse
P.O. Box 326
Main Street
Jonesville, VA 24263-0326
Phone: 540-346-7763

Clerk Circuit Court has birth and death records 1853-1877
Marriage  records from 1830 divorce records from 1832
probate records from 1800, Court and land records from 1793[1]

Beginning Dates for Lee County, Virginia Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1853 1830 1853 1820 1793 1793


Lee County, Virginia History

Parent County

1792--Lee County was created 25 October 1792 from Russell County.
County seat: Jonesville [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

War.jpg
1863 Union troops in October 1863 during the American Civil War were blamed for razing the courthouse and the subsequent loss of loose papers including chancery papers and judgements.[3]

A local judge is credited with removing bound volumes from the courthouse and saving the deeds, orders, and will books from the destruction.[3]

  • Lost censuses: 1800, 1810, 1890

For a list of record loss in Virginia counties see: Virginia Counties with Burned Courthouses.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Lee County, Virginia Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Lee County, Virginia Genealogy Resources

Valee.jpg

African American

Freedmen's Bureau Letters or Correspondence, 1865-1872

  • Kegley, Mary B. Free People of Colour: Free Negroes, Indians, Portuguese and Freed Slaves. Wytheville, Virginia: Kegley Books, 2003. Available at FamilySearch Books Online; FHL

Bible Records

Images of the Virginia Historical Society's family Bible collection have been digitized:

Additional Bible records include:

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Lee County, Virginia census records online, see: Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
18003,538
18104,69432.7%
18204,256−9.3%
18306,46151.8%
18408,44130.6%
185010,26721.6%
186011,0327.5%
187013,26820.3%
188015,11613.9%
189018,21620.5%
190019,8569.0%
191023,84020.1%
192025,2936.1%
193030,41920.3%
194039,29629.2%
195036,106−8.1%
196025,824−28.5%
197020,321−21.3%
198025,95627.7%
199024,496−5.6%
200023,589−3.7%

1790 - See Parent County.

1800 - Lost, but a subsitute is available, see Taxation.

1810 - Lost, but a subsitute is available, see Taxation.

1830

  • Simmons, Don. Lee County, Virginia, Census of 1830. [Virginia?]: D. Simmons, 1976. Available at FHL; digital version at World Vital Records ($).

1840

  • Douthat, James L. 1840 Mountain Empire of Virginia Census. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 2001. FHL Collection 975.5 X2d 1840. Free online surname index and purchase details at Mountain Press website. [Includes Lee County.]

1890 Union Veterans' Census

Church Records

Baptist

Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

  1. Deep Spring (1797)[4]

Lee County fell within the bounds of the Holston and Mountain Associations.

Court

Genealogy

More than 25 genealogies have been published about Lee County families. To view a list, visit Lee County, Virginia Genealogy.

Land

Local Histories

  • Historical Facts of Lee County, Virginia. Pennington Gap, Va.: Pennington High School, 1930. FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($).

Maps

Military

Revolutionary War
  • Kegley, Mary B. Revolutionary War Pension Applications of Southwest Virginia Soldiers. n.p.: M.B. Kegley, 1997. Available at FHL. [Includes Lee County pensioners.]
  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Virginia, Western District, Lee County on page 135.]
War of 1812

Lee County men served in the 94th Regiment.[5]

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, Lee County, p. 87. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]
Civil War


Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers 1861-1865

Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers 1861-1865

Regiments. Service men in Lee County, Virginia served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Lee County, Virginia:

- 1st Regiment, Virginia Artillery (Confederate)
- 20th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate) - possibly from Lee County
- 25th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company B, Company G (Lee Rangers), Company H, and Company I (Lee Rangers aka Lee Greys).[6]
- 32nd Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate) -  possibly from Lee County
- 37th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company E (Walnut Hill Company).[7]
- 48th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company D (Lee County Guards).[8]
- 50th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company A (Lee Rifles), Company B, and Company G (2nd).[9]
- 64th Regiment, Virginia Mounted Infantry (Confederate). Companies A, B, C1, C2.[10]
- Lee Home Guard

Naturalization

Virginia Naturalization Petitions, 1906-1929

Newspapers

The Virginia Newspapers Project identifies local Lee County, Virginia newspapers.

Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in the Virginia Gazette and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia.

Periodicals

Watauga Association of Genealogists Bulletin

Genealogical articles with abstracts of Lee County, Virginia records have been published in the Watauga Association of Genealogists Bulletin (39+ vols., 1972-present), the journal of the Watauga Association of Genealogists. The organization has posted tables of contents for most volumes on their website. Back issues are available for purchase.The Family History Library has a complete collection FHL US/CAN Books 976.897 B2w, including Margaret W. Hougland and Betty Jane Hylton's Bulletin Subject Index: The First Thirty Years, 1972-2001 (Johnson City, Tenn.: Watauga Association of Genealogists, 2002) FHL US/CAN Book 976.897 B2w index 1972-2001.

Private Papers

Virginia, Historical Society Papers, 1607-2007

  • Bell, Annie W.B. Southwest Virginia Historical Records: Family Bible Records of the People Living in Lee County, Virginia Adjoining Historical Cumberland Gap, Tennessee One Year Before the Civil War Began, During which the Families were Separated, Many Never to Meet Again, as Taken from the 1860 Census of the United States ... 195-?. FHL US/CAN Access Services Window 6015650-6015655.

Probate Records

A free index to Lee County, Virginia wills and administrations (1794-1832) is available at the Library of Virginia website.

Taxation

How can Virginia tax lists help me? 

The original Lee County Personal Property Tax Lists are held at the Library of Virginia. The Family History Library has acquired microfilms the Library of Virginia made for the years 1795-1850: FHL US/CAN Films 2024603-2024604.

The original Lee County Land Tax Lists are held at the Library of Virginia. The Family History Library does not have microfilm copies of these records, but has acquired abstracts for select years published in genealogical journals.

Lee County is also fortunate in being part of the First Tax District whose detailed 1815 records survive in the Kincade Private Papers. The Family History Library has acquired a microfilm copies of these records from the Library of Virginia: FHL US/CAN Film 1993745 Item 1 and FHL US/CAN Film 1993745 Item 2. These records were also abstracted, published, and indexed by Kegley (see below).

  • [1799] Indexed images of the 1799 Personal Property Tax List of Lee County, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
  • [1799] Indexed images of the 1799 Land Tax List of Lee County, Virginia is available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
  • [1806] Kincaid, Bathsheba W. "Lee County, Virginia 1806 Land Tax Book," The Mountain Empire Genealogical Quarterly, Vol. 5, No. 2 (Summer 1986):129-130; Vol. 5, No. 3 (Fall 1986):195-198. FHL US/CAN Book 975 D25m v. 5 (1986).
  • [1807] Kincaid, Bathsheba W. "Lee County, Virginia 1807 Land Tax Book," The Mountain Empire Genealogical Quarterly, Vol. 5, No. 3 (Fall 1986):198-199; Vol. 5, No. 4 (Winter 1986):263-267. FHL US/CAN Book 975 D25m v. 5 (1986).
  • [1809] Kincaid, Bathsheba W. "Lee County, Virginia 1809 Land Tax Book," The Mountain Empire Genealogical Quarterly, Vol. 6, No. 1 (Spring 1987):33-34; Vol. 6, No. 2 (Summer 1987):120-123; Vol. 6, No. 3 (Fall 1987):191-192. FHL US/CAN Book 975 D25m v. 6 (1987).
  • [1810] Schreiner-Yates, Netti. A Supplement to the 1810 Census of Virginia: Tax Lists of the Counties for which the Census is Missing. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1971. FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 R4s. [The source for this publication is the 1810 personal property tax list. Lee County is included because the 1810 Census for that county has been destroyed.]
  • [1810] Kincaid, Bathsheba W. "Lee County, Virginia 1810 Land Tax Book," The Mountain Empire Genealogical Quarterly, Vol. 6, No. 2 (Summer 1987):120-123; Vol. 6, No. 3 (Fall 1987):192-193; Vol. 6, No. 4 (Winter 1987):276-277; Vol. 7, No. 1 (Spring 1988):61-62; Vol. 7, No. 3 (Fall 1988):190-192. FHL US/CAN Book 975 D25m v. 6 (1987) ff.
  • [1812] Kincaid, Bathsheba W. "Lee County, Virginia 1812 Land Tax Book," The Mountain Empire Genealogical Quarterly, Vol. 8, No. 3 (Fall 1989):169-175. FHL US/CAN Book 975 D25m v. 8 (1989).
  • [1815] Kincaid, Bathsheba. "Lee County, Virginia Tax Book for 1815," The Mountain Empire Genealogical Quarterly, Vol. 4, No. 3 (Fall 1985):175-176. FHL US/CAN Book 975 D25m v. 4 (1985).
  • [1815] Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. FHL US/CAN Book 975 E4w v. 5. [The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Lee County is included in Vol. 5.]
  • [1815] Kegley, Mary B. Southwest Virginia Tax Assessments, 1815: Grayson, Lee, Scott, Russell, Washington, and Wythe Counties. Wytheville, Va.: Kegley Books, 1991. Original edition and 1992 supplement: FHL US/CAN Book 975.57R4k and FHL US/CAN Book 975.57R4k supp. [The source for this publication is a private collection of 1815 tax assessment tickets for the First District of Virginia. The tickets includes landowners' names, number of acres or lots, number of buildings along with descriptions, and number of slaves. N.B. These are not the 1815 land tax books.]

Vital Records

Indexes to Lee County, Virginia births, marriages, and deaths are available online. These collections are incomplete, but are easy to search. Most records can also be ordered electronically online as well. Courtesy: FamilySearch - free. See also How to order Virginia Vital Records

Birth
  • 1854-1877 - Lee County Birth Index 1854-1877. Batch C868806 at FamilySearch - free.[11]
Marriage
  • 1830-1916 - Lee County Marriage Index 1830-1916. Batch M868806 at FamilySearch - free.[11]
Death
  • 1853-1891 - Lee County Death Index 1853-1891. Batch B868806 at FamilySearch - free.[11]
Vital Record Substitutes

Lee County, Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Lee County, Virginia Genealogy Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lee County, Virginia. Page 716 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 Lost Records Localities: Counties and Cities with Missing Records, 5, in Library of Virginia (accessed 4 April 2014).
  4. Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 358-359. Digital version at Google Books.
  5. Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 124. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  6. Dobbie E. Lambert, 25th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 106.
  7. Thomas M. Rankin, 37th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1987). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 37.
  8. John D. Chapla, 48th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 54.
  9. John C. Chapla, 50th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1997). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 129.
  10. Jeffrey C. Weaver, 64th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1992). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 89.
  11. 11.0 11.1 11.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/3/37/Igivirginia.pdf.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 00:19.
  • This page has been accessed 34,930 times.