Lee St Margaret, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Lee St Margaret, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Lee St Margaret, Kent
Lee St Margaret Kent.jpg
Lee St Margaret Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Blackheath
County Kent
Poor Law Union Lewisham PLU
Registration District Lewisham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1579
Bishop's Transcripts: 1720
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dartford
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester; Post-1844 - Court of the Bishop of London (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

LEE (St. Margaret), a parish, in the union of Lewisham, hundred of Blackheath, lathe of Suttonat-Hone, W. division of Kent, 7 miles (S. E. by E.) from London.[1]


Lee also known as Lee Green is a district in the London Boroughs of Lewisham and Greenwich Lee London Wikipedia

Lee St Margaret is an Ancient Parish in North Kent.

The Ancient parish church of St Margaret was probably built in the 15th century. This church was demolished in 1813 apart from the tower. The replacement was troubled by subsidence and had to be demolished. The ruins of the tower are a listed building and the surrounding graveyard are designated as an archaeological priority area.

Lee Tower of Old St Margaret Kent.jpg

The replacement church of St Margaret was built on a site nearby 1839-1841 by architect john Brown of Norwich. It was subsequently restored.

The Church of St Margaret Lee Terrace has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

See Lee North West Kent Family History Society for other Anglican churches in the area local parish boundaries and other places of worship and Lee St Margaret

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Lee St Margaret, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Ancestry - (£)[2][3][4][5]
BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[6]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[7]
FREG = FreeREG - free[8]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[9]
FSBOOK = FamilySearch Books - free
IARC = InternetArchive - free[10]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[11]
LBUR = London Burials Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[12]
Lee St Margaret, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1762-1813 1762-1813
1762-1813 1762-1813
AC 1813 1813 1762-1813 1762-1813 1813 1813
BIVRI 1744-1765, 1813-1846
1835-1836

BOYD
1579-1754

FREG 1579-1754
1579-1754
1580-1754
FS BTs 1720-1846 1720-1846 1720-1846
FSBOOK 1579-1754
1579-1754
1579-1754
IARC 1579-1754 1579-1754 1579-1754
IGI 1579-1754, 1801-1813, 1847-1862 1579-1766, 1802-1813
LBUR 1693-1754

Census records

Census returns for Lee 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Lewisham Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 46-55. Date accessed: 19 August 2013.
  2. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as St Margaret, Lee Terrace in Lewisham Borough. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  3. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as Lee St Margaret in Lewisham Borough. Partially indexed.
  4. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as Lee Terrace St Margaret in Lewisham Borough. Partially indexed.
  5. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as Lee Terrace St Margaret in Lewisham Borough. Partially indexed.
  6. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  7. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  8. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  9. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  10. Leland L. Duncan and Oswald Barron, The Register of All the Marriages, Christenings and Burials in the Church of S. Margaret, Lee: In the County of Kent from 1579-1754 (Lee, England: C. North, 1888). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  11. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 18 November 2013.
  12. 'Boyd's London Burials Index - places and counts,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes adult male burials only.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 June 2014, at 19:39.
  • This page has been accessed 4,078 times.