Leek, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Leek, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Leek, Staffordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Totmonslow; South Totmonslow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Leek PLU
Registration District Leek
Records begin
Parish registers: 1634
Bishop's Transcripts: 1662
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Leek
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

LEEK (St. Edward the Confessor), a markettown and parish, and the head of a union, partly in the S. division, but chiefly in the N. division, of the hundred of Totmonslow, N. division of the county of Stafford; comprising the townships of Bradnop, Endon, Heaton,Leek, Leek-Frith, Longsdon, Onecote, Rudyard, Rushton-James, Rushton-Spencer, Stanley, and Tittisworth. There are places of worship for the Society of Friends, Independents, Primitive Methodists,and Wesleyans and there is a Roman Catholic chapel.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Leek St Edward the Confessor parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS = FamilySearch - free[4]
LEEK ST EDWARD THE CONFESSOR PARISH (1633) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1633-1855 1633-1855 1633-1862 1633-1862 1633-1902 1633-1902
FREG 1634-1637, 1643-1662, 1668-1682, 1685-1730
1634-1637, 1643-1662, 1668-1682, 1685-1730
1634-1637, 1643-1662,1668-1707, 1813-1838
FS 1634-1853
1562-1747


Many of Staffordshire's Parish Register entries have been transcribed in full by Staffordshire Freereg and can be searched for free.

Leek St Peter parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Leek St Peter Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP

1662-1680 1662-1680

Non-Conformist Churches

Mount Pleasant Methodist Chapel registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

  MOUNT PLEASANT METHODIST CHAPEL (1808) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1808-1807





Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474630.

Poor Law Unions

Leek Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/STS/LeekandLowe/index.html

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 55-62. Date accessed: 01 November 2012.
  2. 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 23 July 2014.
  3. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 14 August 2014.
  4. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 18 September 2013.
  5. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 August 2014, at 20:37.
  • This page has been accessed 1,905 times.