Leek St Luke, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Leek St Luke, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Leek St Luke, Staffordshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Totmonslow; South Totmonslow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Leek PLU
Registration District Leek
Records begin
Parish registers: 1848
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Leek
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Leek St Luke is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Staffordshire, created in 1845 from Leek, Staffordshire Ancient Parish. Other places in the parish include: Boundary Lands, Bradnop, Cawdry, Tittisworth, Rudyard, Tittesworth, and Leek Town. A church district named St. Luke's, with a computed population of 3300, was endowed by the Ecclesiastical Commissioners in June, 1845. There are places of worship for the Society of Friends, Independents, Primitive Methodists, and Wesleyans; and a Roman Catholic chapel. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Leek St Luke parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FS = FamilySearch - free[5]
LEEK ST LUKE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1849-1906
1848-1900

FMP 1849-1901 1849-1901 1848-1900 1848-1900
FREG

1849-2007
FS 1849-1905


Many of Staffordshire's Parish Register entries have been transcribed in full by Staffordshire Freereg and can be searched for free.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474630.

Poor Law Unions

Leek Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 55-62. Date accessed: 01 November 2012.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 11 September 2013.
  3. 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 23 July 2014.
  4. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 17 September 2013.
  5. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 18 September 2013.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 August 2014, at 21:17.
  • This page has been accessed 1,038 times.