Leeming, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes K-R Gotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Leeming 
Leeming, Yorkshire
St John the Baptist Leeming Yorkshire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hallikeld
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Bedale PLU
Registration District Bedale
Records begin
Parish registers: 1823
Bishop's Transcripts: 1823
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Catterick
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Eastern Deaneries - Catterick
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Guide to Leeming, Yorkshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Leeming St John the Baptist is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Yorkshire, created in 1755 from Burneston, Yorkshire Ancient Parish.

Other places in the parish include: Exelby, Leeming Lane, and Newton.

The civil parish is Exelby, Leeming and Newton.

The parish church of St John the Baptist which dates from 1839 has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

Leeming Wikipedia Leeming Bar Wikipedia RAF Leeming Wikipedia

LEEMING, a chapelry, in the parish of Burneston, union of Bedale, wapentake of Hallikeld, N.riding of York, 2 miles (E. N. E.) from Bedale. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Records from the Northallerton registration district held at the North Yorkshire Registration Service are included in the online index available at Yorkshire BMD for post 1837 events; view the coverage table to check progress on the availability of index search.

Marriages include

  • Church of England marriages.
  • Civil Marriages at register offices, or non-conformist churches where a registrar was required to be present at the ceremony.
  • Authorised Person marriages. These cover the non-conformist places of worship which applied to keep their own registers as a result of the Marriage Act, 1898 (bringing them into line with Jewish and Quaker marriages which had this status since 1837). In such cases an 'Authorised Person' (usually the minister or priest) recorded the ceremony instead of the registrar. Earlier weddings in these places would be included with civil marriage registers.

A secondary index of Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD however this secondary index may omit the event and may not contain the detail of the Yorkshire BMD index

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Leeming exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Archive.org
FS = FamilySearch.org
AC = Ancestry - (£)[2]
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
LEEMING CHAPELRY RECORDS (1876) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1876

None

None

JOIN None

None

None

AC None

None

None



For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Leeming and comprising the whole ancient parish of Burneston to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on theBURNESTON PARISH page.


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464231.

Poor Law Unions

Bedale Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 55-62. Date accessed: 21 October 2013.
  2. 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 October 2014, at 02:01.
  • This page has been accessed 1,589 times.