Leesfield, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Leesfield, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. http://www.visionofbritain.org.uk/place/95

Leesfield, Lancashire
Leesfield St Thomas contributor Alexander P Kapp.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Ashton Under Lyne; Oldham PLU
Registration District Ashton under Lyne; Oldham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1846
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ashton Under Lyne
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

LEESFIELD, a parochial chapelry in Prestwich and Ashton-under-Lyne parishes, Lancashire. There are chapels for New Connexion Methodists, Primitive Methodists, and Brethren. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Leesfield chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Ashton under Lyne to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


LEESFIELD Chapelry (1846) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1847-1909 1848-1915 1848-1905
LOPC None None None
AC None None None
ASHTON UNDER LYNE ST MICHAEL(ancient parish containing LEESFILED Chapelry)
Baptisms  (1594)        Marriages (1594)    Burials (1596)
FS 1594-1843 1754-1837 None
LOPC None 1754-1844 1892-1908
AC 1594-1720 1594-1720 1594-1720


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Leesfield and comprising the whole ancient parish of Ashton under Lyne to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the ASHTON UNDER LYNE ST MICHAEL PARISH page.


Parish registers for Leesfield, 1846-1996 Microfilm of original records formerly held at the Manchester Archives Central Library in Manchester, England.
The chapelry of Leesfield is in the parishes of Prestwich and Ashton-under-Lyne. The church is known as St. Thomas'.
Manchester Archives Central Library call no.: L 251.

Content
Film
Baptisms, 1846-1908. Burials, 1848-1905. Marriages, 1848-1873.
FHL BRITISH Film
1656520
Marriages, 1873-1915.
FHL BRITISH Film
1656521 Items 1 - 3
Baptisms, 1846-Aug. 1882 (another filming), Aug. 1909-1941.
VAULT BRITISH Film
2356098 Items 7 - 9
Marriages, 1915-1950. Burials, 1972-1996.
FHL BRITISH Film
2356099 Items 1 - 4


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306932.


Poor Law Unions

Oldham Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. http://www.visionofbritain.org.uk/place/95 Date accessed 24 September 2013
 

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:11.
  • This page has been accessed 2,254 times.