Leicestershire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Leicestershire)

England Gotoarrow.png Leicestershire Genealogy

Guide to Leicestershire Genealogy ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


England-leicestershire.png
Leicestershire, or Leicester, is an inland county located nearly in the center of England.

Leicestershire.jpg

Contents

Featured Content

Research Tools

Jurisdictions

Use an interactive map to find jurisdictions for each parish in Leicestershire.

Civil Districts

When civil registration of births, marriages and deaths began in 1837, Leicestershire was divided into a number of registration districts, each containing several parishes. The index to the civil records gives the name of the district where an event took place. Click hereto see a list of the civil districts in Leicestershire and the parishes covered by each. Read more about England Civil Registration.

Parishes

See a list of the parishes of Leicestershire with links to articles.

Probate Jurisdictions

Before 1858, every town and parish in Leicestershire was under the probate jurisdiction of several ecclesiastical courts.  To read more about probate records and see a list of Leicestershire towns and parishes and the probate courts that had jurisdiction over them, go to Leicestershire Probate Records.

Websites

To view a further list of web sites and/or web pages for Leicestershire and many of its parishes, visit FHLFavorites.info.

Links to articles, subcategories and images under the Category Leicestershire Genealogy


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 February 2015, at 10:26.
  • This page has been accessed 7,372 times.