Leigh, LancashireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Leigh is an Ancient Parish and a market town in the county of Lancashire.
For a list of all chapels standing within this parish, see A Comprehensive List of Chapelries in Leigh Parish.
"LEIGH St Mary, a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of West Derby, S. division of Lancashire, 46 miles south by southeast of Lancaster, comprising the separate parochial district chapel of Tyldesley cum Shakerley, as well the chapelries of Astley, Atherton, and Bedford, and the townships of Pennington and Westleigh.
At Astley, Atherton, Bedford, Tyldesley, and Westleigh are other chapels.
There are places of worship for Independents, Wesleyan Methodists, Roman Catholics, and others."
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD
Lancashire Online Parish Clerks
An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/
Leigh St Mary's parish registers and those registers of all of its smaller chapelries lying within its boundaries have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:
|AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)|
|FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)|
|FREG = FreeReg|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk|
|LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk|
|LEIGH ST MARY'S PARISH (1558) Indexes|
|LEIGH ST PAUL Chapelry (1847) Indexes|
|LEIGH ST THOMAS Chapelry (1841) Indexes|
|ASTLEY ST STEPHEN Chapelry (1744) Indexes|
|ATHERTON ST JOHN THE BAPTIST Chapelry (1724) Indexes|
|BEDFORD ST THOMAS Chapelry (1840) Indexes|
|HINDSFORD ST ANNE Chapelry (1873) Indexes|
|HOWE BRIDGE ST MICHAEL & ALL ANGEL Chapelry (1873) Indexes|
|PENNINGTON CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry (1854) Indexes|
|TYDESLEY Chapelry (1829) Indexes|
|WESTLEIGH ST PAUL (1848) Indexes|
|FS||None||None||1851-1901 - part.|
Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection
Leigh St Mary the Virgin's original parish registers are held at the Lancashire Record Office, Bow Lane, Preston, PR1 2RE as follows:
Baptisms-1559-1701- MFPR 2190
Baptisms-1701-1724- MFPR 1027 or MFPR 2190
Baptisms-1724-1797- MFPR 1027 or MFPR 2191
Baptisms-1825-1834- MFPR 1028
Baptisms-1834-1839- MFPR 1028 or MFPR 2194
Baptisms-1839-1885- MFPR 2194
Baptisms-1885-1900- MFPR 2195
Baptisms-1900-1913- Archives L211
Baptisms Transcript--1558-1624- 929.3272 L12 or MFE 929.3272 L13
Baptisms Transcript--1625-1700- 929.3272 L13
Baptisms Transcript--1701-1753- 929.342736 Le(499)
Burials-1560-1648- MFPR 2190
Burials-1648-1660- Archives L211
Burials-1660-1661- MFPR 2190
Burials-1661-1701- MFPR 2191
Burials-1701-1786- MFPR 1030 or MFPR 2191
Burials-1786-1830- MFPR 1030
Burials-1830-1837- MFPR 1030 or MFPR 2196
Burials-1837-1842- MFPR 1032 or MFPR 2196
Burials-1842-1856- MFPR 2196
Burials Transcript--1559-1625- 929.3272 L12 or MFE 929.3272 L13
Burials Transcript--1625-1700- 929.3272 L13
Burials Transcript--1701-1753- 929.342736 Le(499)
Marriage Index-1754-1799- F929.3272 Be1
Marriages-1560-1701- MFPR 2190
Marriages-1701-1724- MFPR 1029 or MFPR 2191
Marriages-1724-1753- MFPR 1029 or MFPR 2195
Marriages-1754-1758- MFPR 1029 or MFPR 2191
Marriages-1759-1825- MFPR 1029
Marriages-1825-1837- MFPR 1029 or MFPR 2192
Marriages-1837-1845- MFPR 2192
Marriages-1845-1900- MFPR 2193
Marriages-1900-1901- Archives L211
Marriages Transcript--1560-1625- 929.3272 L12 or MFE 929.3272 L13
Marriages Transcript--1625-1700- 929.3272 L13
Marriages Transcript--1701-1753- 929.342736 Le(499)
The Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
The Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)
Parish registers for St. Mary-the-Virgin Church, Leigh, 1560-1901 Microfilm of original records in the Wigan Record Office, Leigh, Greater Manchester, Lancashire, England.
Many times the records for the chapels in Atherton and Astley are separate. For additional records for Atherton see: Church of England. Atherton (Lancashire).
Manchester Archives Central Library call nos.: L 211/1/1/1-4; L 211/1/2/1.(see above for Manchester Archive) Leigh, Greater Manchester : Filmed by the Wigan Record Office], 1993 14 microfilm reels
Baptisms, 1560-1723; Marriages, 1560-1723; Burials, 1560-1723. FHL BRITISH Film 1885656
Baptisms, 1724-1797; Marriages, 1724-1759; Burials, 1724-1797. FHL BRITISH Film 1885648
Baptisms, 1798-1812; Burials, 1798-1812. FHL BRITISH Film 1885649 Item 1
Baptisms, 1813-1825 (includes transcripts for 1798-1800). FHL BRITISH Film 1885647
Baptisms, 1825-1834. FHL BRITISH Film 1885649 Items 2 - 3
Baptisms, 1834-1885. FHL BRITISH Film 1885645
Baptisms, 1885-1900; Marriages, 1754-1758. FHL BRITISH Film 1885646
Marriages, 1759-1803. FHL BRITISH Film 1885650
Marriages, 1803-1825. FHL BRITISH Film 1885651
Marriages, 1825-1845. FHL BRITISH Film 1885652
Marriages, 1845-1900 (includes some entries for 1901). FHL BRITISH Film 1885653
Burials, 1813-1830. FHL BRITISH Film 1885654
Burials, 1830-1856. FHL BRITISH Film 1885655
Baptisms, burials, 1560-1660; marriages, 1560-1682. Baptisms, 1660-1724; marriages, 1683-1724; burials, 1661. (another filming) Vault BRITISH Film 1408959 Items 3 - 4
Burials, 1661-1723. Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1724-1743. Baptisms, burials, 1744-1781; marriages, 1744-1759. Baptisms, 1782-1797; burials, 1782-1787 (another filming). Vault BRITISH Film 1408960
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306901. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- This page was last modified on 11 February 2013, at 05:05.
- This page has been accessed 740 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More