Leighfield, RutlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png RutlandGotoarrow.pngRutland Parishes

Guide to Leighfield, Rutland family history and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Leighfield, Rutland
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Oakham-Soke
County Rutland
Poor Law Union Oakham PLU
Registration District Uppingham
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Rutland Record Office


Contents

Parish History

Leighfield is an extra-parochial place. Search surrounding parishes for records and information.

LEIGHFIELD-FOREST, an extra-parochial tract in Uppingham district, Rutland; 2½ miles W of Manton r.. station, and 3½ SW of Oakham. [1]


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Leighfield is a civil parish in the county of Rutland .

In the medieval period, Leighfield Forest straddled the borders of Rutland and Leicestershire. There is no settlement centre in the parish, only a few isolated properties.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474578.

Poor Law Unions

Oakham Poor Law Union, Rutland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Rutland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Adapted. Date accessed: 04 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 05:34.
  • This page has been accessed 511 times.