Leighton with Minshull, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes 

Guide to Leighton with Minshull, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Leighton with Minshull, Cheshire
St Peters Church Bradfield Green Cheshire.jpg
St Peters Church Bradfield Green Cheshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Nantwich
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Nantwich PLU
Registration District Nantwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1840
Bishop's Transcripts: 1840
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Nantwich
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

LEIGHTON with MINSHULL or MINSHULL-VERNON, is a village and a township in Middlewich parish, and a chapelry partly also in Nantwich parish, Cheshire. The village stands on the river Weaver, near the Northwestern railway, it is 3¾ miles S by W of Middlewich. The township contains also the village of Bradfield-Green. The chapelry was constituted in 1840, and is sometimes called Leighton-cum-Minshull-Vernon. There is an Independent chapel.[1]

Leighton with Minshull Vernon St Peter is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Cheshire, created in 1850 from Leighton town in  Nantwich, Cheshire Ancient Parish and  Middlewich, Cheshire  Ancient Parish. Other places in the parish include: Bradfield Green, Minshul Vernon, Minshull, and Minshull Vernon.

Leighton was a township in Nantwich Parish, Nantwich Hundred , which became a civil parish in 1866.
Including the hamlet of Barrows Green.

Leighton is a scattered settlement and civil parish in the unitary authority of Cheshire East and the ceremonial county of Cheshire, England, which lies immediately north west of Crewe. The parish also includes the village of Barrows Green, which lies on the northern outskirts of Crewe, 1½ miles from the centre. Nearby villages include Bradfield Green and Worleston.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241248.

Church records

Leighton with Minshull St Peter parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Leighton with Minshull St Peter Parish (1840) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1813-1871 (4 entries)
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
FS BT'S 1840-1856
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
1840-1868
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.

Non-Conformist Churches

A Primitive Methodist chapel was built in Leighton in 1841; it closed in 1899.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

Nantwich (1837–1937)
Crewe (1937–74)
Congleton and Crewe (1974–88)
South Cheshire (1988–98)
Cheshire Central (post 1998)

Poor Law Unions

Northwich Poor Law Union, Cheshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Leighton (near Nantwich) on GENUKI

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 22 March 2013

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 November 2014, at 15:53.
  • This page has been accessed 1,226 times.