Leintwardine with Adforton, HerefordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Parishes


Guide to Leintwardine with Adforton, Herefordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Part of this parish is in Shropshire. See also Leintwardine with Adforton, Shropshire.

Leintwardine with Adforton, Herefordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wigmore
County Herefordshire
Poor Law Union Ludlow PLU
Registration District Ludlow; Knighton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1547
Bishop's Transcripts: 1638
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Clun
Diocese Hereford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Herefordshire Record Office

Parish History

LEINTWARDINE (St. Peter and St. Paul), a parish, in the unions of Ludlow and Knighton, hundred of Wigmore, county of Hereford; including the townships of Brakes, Heath with Jay, Kington, Leintwardine, Marlow, Walford with Letton and Newton, Whitton with Trippleton, and Adforton with Stanway, Payton, and Grange. The parish is situated at the northern extremity of the county, where it borders on Shropshire, and near the confluence of the Teme and the Clun; and from the quantity of fine fish, particularly graylings, with which these rivers abound, it is much resorted to as a fishing-place.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288821.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/HEF/Leintwardine/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 65-68. Accessed and adapted: 8 March 2013
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 September 2014, at 22:40.
  • This page has been accessed 771 times.