Lelant, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Parishes

Guide to Lelant, Cornwall family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Lelant, Cornwall
St Uny Church Lelant Cornwall.JPG
St Uny Church Lelant Cornwall
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Penwith
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Penzance PLU
Registration District Penzance
Records begin
Parish registers: 1669
Bishop's Transcripts: 1607
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Penwith
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

LELANT, UNY (St. Ewyn), a parish, in the union of Penzance, W. division of the hundred of Penwith and of the county of Cornwall, 3 miles (S. E.) from St. Ives. There are two places of worship for Wesleyans.[1]


Lelant St Uny is an Ancient Parish in the county of Cornwall. TowednackTowednack, Cornwall was a chapelry of Lelant.Other places in the parish include: Carbis Bay, Carbis Water, and Chyangwheal.

The name is derived from the Cornish lann and Anta, meaning Church-site of Anta,. The earliest attested spelling is Lananta in about 1170.

Nothing is known about Anta and Lelant parish church is dedicated to St Uny.


Resources

Civil Registration


Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.


Church records

Lelant, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[4][5][6]
FREG = FreeREG - free[7]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[8]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[9]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[10]
Lelant, Cornwall Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1611-1812

COPC 1779-1901
1679-1906
1813-1902
FMP 1669-1874 1611-1837 1690-1837
FREG 1716-1840
1679-1812

IGI 1669-1810, 1813-1875 1716-1782
PALL
1800-1812

TGEN 1716-1840
1679-1812

Images of parish registers are available online in historic records (formerly Record Search) Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference P 120/ Uny- Lelant (Lelant)

Courtesy of Christine Uphill:

Lelant Parish & Cemetery Records

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish http://www.cornwall-opc.org/Par_new/l_m/lelant.php

The history, registers and much more have been contributed by the Online Parish clerk for Lelant (Uny-Lelant) Chris Uphill.

Also http://www.lelant.info/ which contains transcripts  local reminiscences and a great deal more.



Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241264.

Directories

Transcribed by Maxwell Adams:

Poor Law Unions

Penzance Poor Law Union

Probate records


Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

 

Land Records

Trascribed by Maxwell Adams:

Websites

Add here any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 65-68. Date accessed: 20 March 2013
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  4. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 22 November 2013.
  5. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  6. 'Cornwall Burials', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  7. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  8. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 November 2013.
  9. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  10. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 20 May 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 May 2014, at 22:37.
  • This page has been accessed 1,317 times.