Lemhi County, IdahoEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png IdahoGotoarrow.png Lemhi County

Guide to Lemhi County, Idaho ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Salmon River, Lemhi County, Idaho.

Idaho Wildlife Management Units.png Idaho
Online Records





Quick start:


Lemhi County, Idaho
Map
Map of Idaho highlighting Lemhi County
Location in the state of Idaho
Map of the U.S. highlighting Idaho
Location of Idaho in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 9, 1869
County Seat Salmon
Courthouse
IDlemhicourthouse.jpg
Address Lemhi County Courthouse
602 Lemhi
206 Courthouse Drive
Salmon, ID 83467-3943
Phone: (208)756-2815

Contents

County Courthouse

Lemhi County Courthouse
206 Courthouse Drive
Salmon, ID 83467-3943
Phone: (208)756-2815

Count Clerk Recorder has birth and death records 1907-1911, marriage, land and military discharge records from 1888 and naturalization from 1869. [1]

Quick Facts

Parent County

1869--Lemhi County was created 9 January 1869 from Idaho County. County seat: Salmon [2]

Boundary Changes

8 January 1881 -- Custer County created from parts of Alturas and Lemhi Counties

4 March 1893 -- Fremont County created from parts of Bingham and Lemhi Counties

Record Loss

Places/Localities

The above list of places includes incorporated cities and towns, unincorporated towns and communities, and place names that may have been used in family histories. Some have well-organized records and even have web sites. Some are simply social communities with no official records, but which may be referenced in small-town newspapers. The list is provided to help researchers identify localities within the county. As records or histories of these localities are identified, a page will be added for each of these place names.

This list of places in Lemhi County, Idaho was compiled from the Lists of Places in Idaho in Wikipedia and from the map of Lemhi County in Virtual Earth.

Resources

The types of records that follow are used for genealogy and family history. Most tell what you may learn and how to locate the records. Links to Internet sites usually go directly to Lemhi County, Idaho entries with names, images, or information.


Many of the older court, land, naturalization, probate, pension, and vital records for Lemhi County have been microfilmed and are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City and through their family history centers. They are also available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise. Details of the county records in these respective institutions can be obtained from their online catalogs or listings. Original records which have been microfilmed and more recent records are in the county courthouse in Salmon[3].

Cemeteries

There are many cemeteries in Lemhi County. For a list of those that have been identified, and links to transcriptions and/or photographs of tombstones, go to Lemhi County, Idaho Cemetery Records.

For the cemeteries in or immediately adjacent to the cities, please see the city pages for the cities listed above.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.
19003,446
19104,78638.9%
19205,1647.9%
19304,643−10.1%
19406,52140.4%
19506,278−3.7%
19605,816−7.4%
19705,566−4.3%
19807,46034.0%
19906,899−7.5%
20007,80613.1%
sources:[4][5]


For a summary of census records for the state of Idaho, see Idaho Census Records.

Church

A list of current churches in Lemhi County is available on the USGenWeb site for the county.

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints (Mormons)

Fort Lemhi was established on a tributary of the Salmon River June 15, 1855. This mission, called the Salmon River Mission, proved to be a very dangerous one. Becasue of Indian depredations the settlement of Fort Lemhi was abandoned in 1858.

  • The following are local congregations (wards branches or missions) which existed in Lemhi County, Idaho prior to 1950.
  • Leadore
  • Lemhi
  • Salmon
  • Silver Creek

County Commissioners' Records

The minute books of the County Commissioners contain interesting tidbits of history about the county as well as the names of individuals appealing to the County Commissioners for action on issues of concern to them. Minutes of those meetings were recorded from the formation of the county, for most counties. Some counties now post the minutes of current meetings online.

Most of these records have been preserved in the county courthouses of the State of Idaho. Few have been microfilmed. Contact the county clerk for information about years covered and availability.

Court Records

Some of the early court records of Lemhi County, Idaho have been microfilmed and are available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise, Idaho. The records filmed include civil suits, divorce papers, judgment dockets, etc. Copies of these microfilmed court records are also available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah or at any of the Library's Family History Centers. Additional court records and more recent records are housed at the Lemhi County courthouse in Salmon, and can be accessed by making a visit there.

Some of the records of the courts of Lemhi County that have been microfilmed include:

  • Coroner's inquest, 1905-1916 
  • Court records, 1878-1934 
  • District court Idaho territory records, 1868-1877
  • Power of attorney, 1889-1941; index, 1878-1984


Judgment Books

  • Judgments, 1878-1929; index, 1883-1929

Directories

The Idaho State Archives has a collection of city, county, state and regional directories.

History

Land and Property

Land and Property records are generally recorded in the county courthouse of the county in which the transaction took place. For original records of Lemhi County, Idaho, one may visit the courthouse in Salmon, Idaho.

The Idaho State Archives has microfilmed many county records of Lemhi County and these can be accessed by visiting the Archives in Boise, Idaho.

The Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah has microfilmed originals of the following records found in the Lemhi County Courthouse in Salmon, Idaho which can be accessed at the Library in Salt Lake City or in any of its Family History Centers:

  • Deeds and water rights, 1867-1892 
  • Deeds, 1868-1915; index 1871-1930 
  • Estate records, 1884-1932 
  • Homestead claims, 1880-1914; index, 1880-1986
  • Judgments, 1878-1929; index, 1883-1929
  • Salmon townsite deeds, 1883-1915

Maps

Idlemhi.jpg

Military

World War I draft registration cards, 1917-1918, for Lemhi County have been microfilmed. Copies of these records are available at the Family History Library (their microfilm number 1452218) and are also available online at Ancestry.com, for a subscription fee. The original cards are maintained in the Southeast Regional Archives of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) in East Point, Georgia and have been microfilmed by the National Archives as their Microcopy M1509.

Miscellaneous Series

Often overlooked by the genealogist, this group of volumes may contain affidavits for citizenship, final disposition of estates, divorce decrees, and many other types of valuable documents. The content varies from county to county, year to year and from clerk to clerk. When the estate case files, civil or criminal files are not available or have been destroyed, you may find key documents recorded here. Most counties will have an index to this series and it is a must search if the information you are seeking is not found elsewhere.

Both the Idaho State Archives in Boise, Idaho, and the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah have copies of the miscellaneous record of Lemhi County. The originals are held in the Lemhi County courthouse in Salmon, Idaho and can be accessed by visiting there. Copies in the Idaho State Archives are available for viewing in Boise. Those held by the Family History Library can be viewed either at the Library in Salt Lake City or at any of its Family History Centers.

Newspapers

Current
Historical

The Idaho State Archives had a fine collection of newspapers from Idaho.

Probate

As a general rule, probate records are recorded in the county in which the event took place, so existing Lemhi County records should be available in Salmon for viewing in the county courthouse there.

Some older Lemhi County probaterecords have been microfilmed by the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah and are available for viewing at the Library in Salt Lake or in any of its affiliate Family History Centers.

The Idaho State Archives has also microfilmed some earlier records of Lemhi County, and these films can be viewed at their headquarters in Boise, Idaho.

Taxation

Any existing tax assessment rolls for Lemhi County should be in the courthouse in Salmon and would need to be accessed by visiting there.

A few taxation records of Lemhi County have been microfilmed by the Family History Library of Salt Lake City, Utah and are available for viewing in the Library in Salt Lake City or in any of its affiliate family history centers.  The same  Inheritance Tax Records 1907-1912 are on microfilm at the Idaho State Archives.

Vital Records

Birth

The Birth Register for Lemhi County, 1907-1911 has been microfilmed and is available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise and at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Birth records, 1911 to present, for individuals born in Lemhi County are included in and recorded at the state level. These records are restricted for a period of one hundred years from the time of the individual's birth but can be obtained by following the guidelines as issued by the State of Idaho. See the Vital Records section under the subject Idaho for more details.

A few (131) [Idaho Births and Christenings (FamilySearch Historical Records)|birth/christening records] for Lemhi County are found in Idaho births and christenings.

Marriage

Nearly 1700 marriages, 1869-1938, are listed on the Western States Marriage Index.

In the online Idaho marriages are found 135 Lemhi County marriages.

Death

The Death Registers for Lemhi County, 1907-1911, have been microfilmed and are available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise and at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. After 1911, deaths occurring in Lemhi County are included in the state-wide registration program. These records are restricted for a period of fifty years from the time of the individual's death but can be obtained by following the guidelines as mandated by the State of Idaho. See the Vital Records section under Idaho for details.

Copies of death certificates from 1911-1954 are on microfilm and can be used at the Idaho State Archives in Boise, the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, BYU-Idaho University Library in Rexburg and several other locations.

A state-wide index to Idaho Deaths, 1911-1956 is available online. Efforts to expand this index to 1960 are underway. Another version is Idaho Death Index 1911-1956.

Found in the [Idaho Deaths and Burials (FamilySearch Historical Records)|Idaho death and burials]] online are 129 deaths from Lemhi County.

Deaths from other sources

A significant source of death and related information for eastern Idaho families can be found at the following website Eastern Idaho Death Index.

Societies and Libraries

Many public libraries provide internet access to sites of value to the family historian. Some have special collections of historical and cultural interest, as well. The following libraries may have some resources of value, but use of some or all of them may require a visit to the library.

Family History Centers

  

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lemhi, Idaho page 179, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Idaho State Historical Society Reference Series, Number 10, Counties and County Seats, Reissued July, 1991.
  4. census.gov - Idaho population by county, 1900-90 accessed 2009-05-03
  5. quickfacts.census.gov - Canyon County accessed 2009-05-03

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 November 2014, at 22:06.
  • This page has been accessed 8,462 times.