Letheringsett, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Letheringsett, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Letheringsett, Norfolk
Letheringsett Church St Andrew.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Holt
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Erpingham PLU
Registration District Erpingham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1601
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Holt
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

LETHERINGSETT (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Erpingham, hundred of Holt, W. division of Norfolk, 1½ mile (W. by N.) from Holt. [1] Also known as Lauringset.[2]


Letheringsett St Andrew is an Ancient parish in the Diocese of Norwich. "The parish church is dedicated to St. Andrew and has a long history, as shown by the chartulary of Binham Priory. This book, preserved in the British Museum, is in Latin and the writing is almost as clear today as it was when the monkish scribe engrossed it qute five centuries go. It contains copies of documents showing the priory’s title to the extensive properties in the neighbourhood owned by it, and in particular an “Inquirey into the first foundation of the church of Leringesete’. But there is little about the foundation."[3]

[1327] Poll Tax (Survived)[4]

[1380] Tax List (Survived). “What is remarkable is that only possibly two of the surname appearing in the 1327 list appear in the list of 1380. It may well be that the ravages of the Black Death in 1349 so depopulated the village that new families moved in from elsewhere to occupy the empty cottages."[5]

[1523] Subsidey List. (Survived). "Contains entirely new set of names."[6]

[1545] Tax List (Survived)

[1592] Tax List (Survived). The chief Letheringsett landowner was George Brigge "who lived at Old Hall, the 'big house' " and who "had only recently moved to Letheringsett from Guist."[7] The Briggs family "had held substantial parcels of land in Cley, Wiveton and Letheringsett for some two hundred years since 1401."[8]

[Early 1600s] In 1603 "..there were eighty-eight Communicants; one man and two women recusant"[9] "This gives a clue to the population, as the communicant comprised the whole body of the adult inhabitants, who were bound to partake on certain occasions."[10] The rector Robert Lawson, in place since 1576 had been "presented by Sir Christopher Heydon. He had been ordained in 1570 and was like his patron of the Puritan school of thought. With George Leeds, rector of Holt, and Vincent Goodwin of Cley and sixty others in the county he refused to subscribe to Archbishop Whitgift’s articles designed to enforce a stricter observance of ceremonies, dress and Prayer Book practice. It is quite likely that he was suspended for awhile, but the Puritan ministers had good friends among the local gentry, particularly William Heydon of Baconsthorpe and Nathaniel Bacon of Stiffkey, which intervened on their behalf. …For some while, as we have seen, there were a number of Roman Catholics in the parish, which cannot have made things easy for Richard Lawson."[11]

The Hall Farm house and saw mill was built aournd 1600.[12]

Starting with 1601 the Archdeacon Transcripts have survived and run to 1608.

[1623-1625] After a 16 year gap, we have surviving Archdeacon Transcripts again and a new rector. The advowson was owned by John Jermy, "the squire of Bayfield, who proceeded in 1623 to present Thomas Kinge. The Jermys, as we shall see, were inclined to Puritanism and in the troubles of a few years later took strongly the side of Parliament against the King."[13]

[1626-1631] No surviving Archdeacon Transcripts.

[1632-1636] Archdeacon Transcripts survived.

[1642-1651] English Civil War

[1653] Act passed "appointing secular 'parish register' ".[14] 1655 - rector was John Lougher B.A. a Commonwealth presentation.[15] No Archdeacon Transcipts survived, but we have the start of surviving parish registers.

[1660] Restoration of Monarch. The Meadow Farmhouse is thought to have been built about 1664.[16]

[1666] Hearth Tax (Survived) and surviving Archdeacon Transcripts start up again in 1666.

[1672] Hearth Tax (Survived). The Glaven Farmhouse is late 17th Century.[17]

[1682] Memorial in Letheringsett parish church dated 1682 reads: "M. S. of Charles Worsley late Rector of Salthouse descended from the ancient Family of the Worsleys of Plattin Lancashire and Son of Edward late Rector of this Chruch & Mary Playford of North-Reps his Mother w. s. Charles with Beatrice Claxton of Booton his Wife lye interred under these Marbles In hopes of a Blessed Resurrection."

[1720] A mill existed where the present day Letheringsett Mill is located. A mill was known in the village since 1384 but it is not kown if that mill was on this same site.[18] The "former" Letheringsett, in existence in 1720 burnt down and was rebuilt by 1754, then burnt again and the present day Letheringsett Mill was erected in 1802.[19]

In the late 1800s "sermon tasting was to the fore. The flock wandered, sampling preachers oer a wide area and across parish boundaries. It was an age of experiment, not of spiritual torpor. Different deominations were tried: the Church of England on a Sunday morning, and perhaps the Methodists in the afternoon. And on a weekday evening there might be the prayer meeting of a pssionate Anglican evangelical fresh from Cambridge."[20] So consider searching the non-conformist records in and outside parish boundaries for your ancestors.

[1800] Glavenside, a former mill house, was built around 1800.[21]

In the late 1800s the Mother's Union, an Anglican charity was started and Letheringsett with Bayfield's Mother's Union blue flag with blue with white flowers is still found in the parish church as of 2013.[22]

[1956] The barrel organ located in the Letheringsett Parish Church was placed their in 1956, but was an eighteenth century organ that was originally housed in the Hindringham Church.

Further reading:

Resources

If you live in Norfolk or near Blakeney then you will have access to a variety of resources; however, for those who live further afield, one can access online records at FamilySearch and other sites mentioned on this page. Additional records (microfilm and online) can be viewed at Family History Centers.   Refer to Letheringsett and Norfolk in the FamilySearch Catalog for available records.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Erpingham 1837-1938
  • North Walsham 1939-1974
  • The Register Office, 18 Kings Arms Street, North Walsham, NR28 9JX.
    Tel/Fax: 01692 406220. E-mail: registration.nwalsham@norfolk.gov.uk

Church records

Church of England

Letheringsett, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[23]
FREG = FreeREG - free[24]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[25]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[26]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[27]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[28]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[29]
Letheringsett, Norfolk Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1662-1752

FREG 1653-1900
1653-1900
1653-1904
FS ATs 1601-1812 1601-1812 1601-1812
FS BTs 1685-1941 1685-1941 1685-1941 1685-1941 1685-1941 1685-1941
FS PRs 1653-1902 1653-1902 1653-1902 1653-1901 1653-1902 1653-1902
IGI 1601-1759 1601-1752
JOIN
1813-1837
  • Images of the parish registers may be viewed online in FamilySearch Historical Records; based on Norfolk Record Office reference PD 547
  • [1602-1812] Archdeacon Transcripts 1600-1812. FamilySearch. Years missing from collection (presumably because not extant) include: 1608-1622, 1674, 1756-1757, 1760, etc. There may be other years missing.
  • [1685-1941] Bishops Transcripts. FamilySearch. Arranged by Archdeaconry (Norwich or Norfolk), then date. Original Bishop Transcripts are housed at NRO, and their online catalog states Bishops Transcripts exist for 1698, 1705, 1715, 1722, 1724, 1734, 1746, 1752, 1759, 1762, 1769, etc.

Methodist

[1898] Methodist chapel erected "and was settled upo Primitive Methodist trusts….On the reunion of the various Weslayan churches in 1932 into the Methodist Church, it became the Methodist chapel in the Cromer, Sheringham & Holt Circuit.”[30]

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438862.

Poor Law Unions

The Workhouse: Erpingham, Norfolk on The Workhouse

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Manorial Records

  • The National Archives' Manorial Documents Register. Site includes information about using manorial records. Using the advanced search button enter Letheringsett and Norfolk. Most listings cited will be found in the Norfolk Record Office in Norwich.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 68-74. Date accessed: 22 April 2013.
  2. Archdeacons Transcripts, Letheringsett, Norfolk, England. See: https://familysearch.org/pal:/MM9.3.1/TH-1-12987-29118-5?cc=1824688&wc=6895183
  3. Cozens-Hardy, Basil. The History of Letheringsett in the County of Norfolk: with Extracts from the Diary of Mary Hardy, 1773-1809. Page 43. See WorldCat.
  4. Cozens-Hardy, Basil. The History of Letheringsett in the County of Norfolk: with Extracts from the Diary of Mary Hardy, 1773-1809. List of names on page 143. See WorldCat.
  5. Cozens-Hardy, Basil. The History of Letheringsett in the County of Norfolk: with Extracts from the Diary of Mary Hardy, 1773-1809.) Page 143.
  6. Cozens-Hardy, Basil. The History of Letheringsett in the County of Norfolk: with Extracts from the Diary of Mary Hardy, 1773-1809. Page 145.
  7. Pamela Peake, "A Family of Substance: George Brigge of Wiveton and his Relatives", The Glaven Historian, http://www.history-blakeney-area.org.uk/GH-Files/GH6/GlavenHistorianIssue6.pdf
  8. Pamela Peake, "A Family of Substance: George Brigge of Wiveton and his Relatives", p. 29 The Glaven Historian, http://www.history-blakeney-area.org.uk/GH-Files/GH6/GlavenHistorianIssue6.pdf
  9. Bryant, T.H., The Churches of Norfolk Page 106. (Norwich, 1900-15)
  10. Cozens-Hardy, Basil. The History of Letheringsett in the County of Norfolk: with Extracts from the Diary of Mary Hardy, 1773-1809.
  11. Cozens-Hardy, Basil. The History of Letheringsett in the County of Norfolk: with Extracts from the Diary of Mary Hardy, 1773-1809.
  12. "Monument Types", NHER Number 13448, Norfolk Heritage Explorer, http://www.heritage.norfolk.gov.uk/record-details?MNF13448, 8 June 2014
  13. Cozens-Hardy, Basil. The History of Letheringsett in the County of Norfolk: with Extracts from the Diary of Mary Hardy, 1773-1809.
  14. “The Story of Norfolk’s Parish Registers: A Norfolk Record Office Exhibition” Page 11. (Norwich, England : Norfolk Record Office, 2013)
  15. Cozens-Hardy, Basil. The History of Letheringsett in the County of Norfolk: with Extracts from the Diary of Mary Hardy, 1773-1809. Ch XVII. See WorldCat.
  16. "Parish Summary: Letheringsett with Glandford", Norfolk Heritage Explorer, http://www.heritage.norfolk.gov.uk/record-details?TNF1469-Parish-Summary-Letheringsett-with-Glandford-%28Parish-Summary%29, accessed 8 June 2014
  17. "Parish Summary: Letheringsett with Glandford", Norfolk Heritage Explorer, http://www.heritage.norfolk.gov.uk/record-details?TNF1469-Parish-Summary-Letheringsett-with-Glandford-%28Parish-Summary%29, accessed 8 June 2014
  18. "Full Description", NHER Number 6525, Norfolk Heritage Explorer, http://www.heritage.norfolk.gov.uk/record-details?MNF6525, accessed 8 June 2014
  19. "Parish Summary: Letheringsett with Glandford", Norfolk Heritage Explorer, http://www.heritage.norfolk.gov.uk/record-details?TNF1469-Parish-Summary-Letheringsett-with-Glandford-%28Parish-Summary%29, accessed 8 June 2014
  20. Margaret Bird, "Sermon Tasting in the Late 18th Century: The Wandering Flock", p. 27, Across the See, Feb/March 2013, Diocese of Norwich, Church of England, http://www.dioceseofnorwich.org/files/4913/6726/0748/Feb-Mar_2013_Layout_1.pdf
  21. "Parish Summary: Letheringsett with Glandford", Norfolk Heritage Explorer, http://www.heritage.norfolk.gov.uk/record-details?TNF1469-Parish-Summary-Letheringsett-with-Glandford-%28Parish-Summary%29, accessed 8 June 2014
  22. Photos of England Genealogy Research, FamilySearch Facebook group, https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10202244193326611&set=o.183991398317906&type=1&theater&notif_t=photo_comment
  23. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  24. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 26 February 2014.
  25. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  26. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  27. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  28. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Norfolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 March 2014.
  29. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 10 February 2014.
  30. Cozens-Hardy, Basil. The History of Letheringsett in the County of Norfolk: with Extracts from the Diary of Mary Hardy, 1773-1809. Page 153. See WorldCat.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:47.
  • This page has been accessed 2,470 times.