Letwell, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes K-R Gotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Letwell

Letwell, Yorkshire
Letwell St Peter Rotherham Yorkshire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Strafforth and Tickhill
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Worksop PLU
Registration District Worksop
Records begin
Parish registers: 1813
Bishop's Transcripts: 1601
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Doncaster
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Chancellor of York with the Prebendal Jurisdiction of Laughton en le Morthen
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Letwell St. Peter is an Ecclesiastical parish formed in 1841 from Letwell with Gildingwells Ecclesiastical Parish and includes Gildingwells within the parish boundary. The parish boundary forms part of the county boundary with neighbors Blyth, Nottinghamshire and Carlton in Lindrick, Nottinghamshire

The Parish Church of St Peter, Church Lane Letwell Rotherham has been designated a grade II* listed building. British listed building

See also Letwell wikipedia St Peter's Church Letwell Wikipedia Gildingwells Wikipedia

LETWELL, a chapelry, in the parish of Laughtonen-le-Morthen, union of Worksop, S. division of the wapentake of Upper Strafforth and Tickhill, W. riding of York, 5½ miles (S. W. by S.) from Tickhill. [1]

= Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

For history of civil registration in this area see Worksop Registration District.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Letwell exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Archive.org
FS = FamilySearch.org
AC = Ancestry - (£)[2]
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk
LETWELL CHAPELRY (1***) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS None

None

None

JOIN None

None

None

AC None

None

None


LAUGHTON-EN-LE-MORTHEN PARISH (1564) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1564-1621, 1708-1909

1571-1631, 1651-1691, 1701-1843

1569-1609, 1782-1812

JOIN None

None

None

AC None

None

None


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Letwell and comprising the whole ancient parish of Laughton-en-le-Morthen to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the LAUGHTON-EN-LE-MORTHEN page.

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection. Letwell

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464278.

Poor Law Unions

Worksop Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 68-74. Date accessed: 21 October 2013.
  2. 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:13.
  • This page has been accessed 1,215 times.