Lewes All Saints, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Lewes All Saints, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Lewes All Saints, Sussex
Lewes All Saints Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lewes Borough
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Lewes PLU
Registration District Lewes
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lewes
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

LAUGHTON, a parish, in the union of Hailsham, hundred of Shiplake, rape of Pevensey, E. division of Sussex, 6 miles (S. S. E.) from Uckfield.[1]

Lewes All Saints is an Ancient Parish and a market town in the county of Sussex.

The parish of All Saints was formed the parishes of the Holy Trinity, St. Peter the Less, and St. Nicholas,.for church history Lewes All Saints

See Lewes Places of worship Lewes Wikipedia

See also: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 74-78. here

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in Lewes Registration District
Certificates may be obtained from
East Sussex
The Register Office
Town Hall
Grove Road
Eastbourne
BN21 4UG
Phone: 01323 464780
Fax: 01323 431386
Email:eastbourne.registrar@eastsussex.gov.uk

Church records

Lewes All Saints, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
Lewes All Saints, Sussex Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1561-1881 1561-1880
SOPC Undefined
Undefined
Undefined

Bishops transcripts held at West Sussex Record Office 1606-1889

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection
Lewes All Saints

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464164.


In the 1851 census England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Poor Law Unions

Lewes Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/Lewes/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 33-37.
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 3 January 2014.
  3. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 19:25.
  • This page has been accessed 1,121 times.