Lewes St Thomas at Cliffe, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Sussex   Gotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes
Lewes St Thomas at Cliffe, Sussex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lewes Borough
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Lewes PLU
Registration District Lewes
Records begin
Parish registers: 1606
Bishop's Transcripts: 1667
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery South Malling
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury for the Exempt Deanery of South Malling
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Lewes St Thomas at Cliffe is an Ancient Parish.

Parish church history St Thomas a Becket Cliffe
The church of St Thomas at Cliffe has been designated a grade II* listed building British listed building

See: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 74-78. here

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in Lewes Registration District
Certificates may be obtained from
East Sussex
The Register Office
Town Hall
Grove Road
Eastbourne
BN21 4UG
Phone: 01323 464780
Fax: 01323 431386
Email:eastbourne.registrar@eastsussex.gov.uk

Church records

Lewes St Thomas at Cliffe, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[1]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
Lewes St Thomas at Cliffe, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1606-1887, 1892-1893
1606-1837, 1881-1887, 1892-1893

IGI 1606-1880

Bishops transcripts held at West Sussex Record Office 1667-1893 Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection
Lewes St Thomas at Cliffe

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464164.

Poor Law Unions

Lewes Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 3 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:13.
  • This page has been accessed 726 times.