Lewis County, KentuckyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Kentucky  Gotoarrow.png  Lewis County

Guide to Lewis County Kentucky ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Kentucky
Online Records


Lewis County, Kentucky
Map
Map of Kentucky highlighting Lewis County
Location in the state of Kentucky
Map of the U.S. highlighting Kentucky
Location of Kentucky in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 2, 1806
County Seat Vanceburg
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Kylogosm.gif This page adopted by:
KYGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
and its representative
Lewis Co. KYGenWeb
Adopt a page today

Contents

County Courthouse

Beginning Dates for Lewis County, Kentucky Government Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Census Deeds Wills
1852 1807 1852 1810 1807 1807
*Many years between 1852 and 1911 are missing
Lewis County, Kentucky Courthouse.JPG

Lewis County Courthouse
514 Second Street
Vanceburg, KY 41179
Phone: 606.796.3062[1]

History

Parent County

1806--Lewis County was created 2 December 1806 from Mason County.
County seat: Vanceburg [2]

Boundary Changes

There has been no boundary changes since the county was formed. For animated maps illustrating Kentucky county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Kentucky County Boundary Maps" (1776-1939) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Kentucky counties see: Kentucky Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Awe Crum Kinniconick Ribolt
Bald Point (hist.) Emerson Kirkville Rugless
Buena Vista Epworth Mount Vernon (hist.) Saint Paul
Burtonville Fearisville Nashtown Saint Marys (hist.)
Carrs Firebrick Pence Salem (hist.)
Charters Garrison Petersville Stricklett
Clarksburg Glen Springs Poplar Flat Tannery
Concord Harris Queens Tollesboro
Cottageville Herron Hill Quincy Trinity
Covedale Irwin Rexton Vanceburg

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Kylewis.png

African American Research

The following have information concerning African American research.  Both should be used:

Biographies, Family Histories/Trees, GEDCOM files etc.

Sorted by Name-Lewis County Kentucky

Cemeteries

Kentucky cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.
18102,357
18203,97368.6%
18305,22931.6%
18406,30620.6%
18507,20214.2%
18608,36116.1%
18709,1159.0%
188013,15444.3%
189014,80312.5%
190017,86820.7%
191016,887−5.5%
192015,829−6.3%
193014,315−9.6%
194015,6869.6%
195013,520−13.8%
196013,115−3.0%
197012,355−5.8%
198014,54517.7%
199013,029−10.4%
200014,0928.2%
http://ukcc.uky.edu/~census/21135.txt

For tips on accessing Lewis County, Kentucky census records online, see: Kentucky Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Kentucky denominations, view the Kentucky Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:

  • Locate publications about direct ancestors
  • Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
  • Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" [Friends, Associates, and Neighbors]
Bibliography
  • [Owens] Owens, David Hatfield. Owens Family of Virginia (Richmond, King George, Stafford, Prince William, Fauquier Counties) and Kentucky (Mason, Lewis, Fleming, Bracken, Mercer, Boyle Counties). Ann Arbor, Mich.: D.H. Owens, 1991. FHL Book 929.273 Ow2od 1991

History

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kentucky Land and Property for additional information about early Kentucky land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Lewis County, Kentucky. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Kentucky Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Army & Air Corp World II Casulty List 
Lewis County Kentucky World War II Casulties Army and Air Force
List of Revolutionary War Pensioners
Soldiers of the Great War, Fallen Kentucky Soldiers in WWI, Lewis County

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Lewis County, Kentucky served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Lewis County, Kentucky:

- 4th Regiment, Kentucky Mounted Infantry (Union), Company I
- 16th Regiment, Kentucky Infantry (Union), Company K
- 22nd Regiment, Kentucky Infantry (Union), Company E

Miscellaneous

Newspaper

The Lewis County Hearld

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Lewis County, Kentucky newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

GenealogyBuff.com-Miscellaneous Lewis County, Kentucky Obituaries
Index of KY, Lewis Co., Obituraries
Lewis County Herald-Obituaries
Obituary Index Lewis County, Kentucky

 

Probate

Probate records are held by the Lewis County, Kentucky Clerk of Court and are housed at the Lewis County, Kentucky Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Kentucky, Probate Records, 1792-1977. See the wiki page Kentucky Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Index of Lewis Co., Ky Probate Records

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Kentucky enacted a statute in 1852-1862 requiring registration of births and deaths,many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1874-1879, and 1892-1910 but, again, was not always followed. By 1911, the law was more clearly defined and kept by 1920. Any existing births 1852-1960 and death records 1852-1953 can be accessed online. See How to Find Kentucky Birth Records and How to Find Kentucky Death Records for links to indexes and images.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Lewis County, Kentucky Clerk, with divorce records 1849-1958 located with the Lewis County, Kentucky Circuit Court. For more information see How to Find Kentucky Marriage Records. For Kentucky divorce records see the wiki page Kentucky Vital Records. See also How to order Kentucky Vital Records


Birth
  • 1852-1861 - Lewis County Birth Index 1852-1861. Batch C517621 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1875 - Lewis County Birth Index 1875. Batch C517622 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Marriage
  • 1852-1861 - Lewis County Marriage Index 1852-1861. Batch M517621 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1875-1876 - Lewis County Marriage Index 1875-1876. Batch M517623 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1876-1878 - Lewis County Marriage Index 1876-1878. Batch M517624 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Unsorted

Index of Lewis Co. KY, Vitals-Deaths
Kentucky Marriage Project-Lewis County
Lewis County, KENTUCKY Delayed Births 1892-1910
Lewis County Marriages

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lewis County, Kentucky page 272, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 3.4 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/0b/Igikentuckygl.pdf.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 November 2014, at 22:05.
  • This page has been accessed 13,978 times.