Lewis County, MissouriEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Lewis County Missouri ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png Lewis County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Missouri
Online Records


Lewis County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 2, 1833
County Seat Monticello
Courthouse
Address Lewis County Courthouse
100 E Lafayette Street
Monticello, MO 63457
Phone: 573.767.5205
Lewis County Website

Contents

County Courthouse


 

Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, divorce and land records;
Probate Judge has probate and court records[1]

History

Parent County

1833--Lewis County was created 2 January 1833 from Marion County. County seat: Monticello [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Missouri counties see: Missouri Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Adams County, Illinois  • Clark  • Hancock County, Illinois  • Knox  • Marion  • Shelby

Lewis CountyAdair CountyAdams CountyMcDonough CountyPike CountyKnox CountyHenderson CountyHancock CountyLee CountyMonroe CountyMarion CountyRalls CountyDavis CountyDes Moines CountyShelby CountyMacon CountySchuyler CountyScotland CountyClark CountyVan Buren CountyMOLewis1.JPG


Resources

Biographies

Cemeteries

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Lewis County, Missouri. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

  • History of Lewis, Clark, Knox and Scotland Counties, Missouri : from the earliest time to the present...family records.... St. Louis : Goodspeed, 1887.

Maps

Molewis.jpg

Military

Civil War
- 69th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
- 21st Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company A
- 21st Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company F
- 21st Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company G
- 21st Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company K
- 10th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company B
- 1st Northeast Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company A
- 1st Northeast Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company I
- 2nd Northeast Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Franklin) - Confederate, Company A, C to E
- 2nd Northeast Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Franklin) - Confederate, Company B
- 69th Battalion, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
- 69th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 69th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
- 69th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
- 69th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
- 69th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company L
- 69th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company M
- 3rd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia Cavalry (Union), Company A



Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Lewis County, Missouri newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
  • 1832-1866 - Lewis County Birth Index, Volumes 1 thru 3, 1832-1866. Batch C515331 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Marriages
  • 1833-1877 - Lewis County Marriage Books 1 thru 3 Index 1833-1877. Batch M515331 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1877-1885 - Lewis County Marriage Books 4 and 5 Index 1877-1885. Batch M515332 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Deaths

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Historical Societies

Lewis County Historical Society
102 N 4th St
Canton, MO 63435‎
Phone: (573) 288-5713
Website: http://canton.missouriexplorer.com/c-87698.htm

Libraries

Lewis County Public Libraries - Libraries located in Lewis County have resources for genealogy and researching family history.

Family History Centers

Web Sites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Lewis County, Missouri
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Lewis County, Missouri
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "Lewis County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Lewis County, Missouri
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Lewis County, MO Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Lewis County Message Board

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lewis County, Missouri. Page 402 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d8/Igimissourij.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 November 2014, at 22:03.
  • This page has been accessed 5,609 times.