Lewisham St Mary, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Lewisham St Mary, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Lewisham St Mary, Kent
Lewisham St Mary Kent.jpg
Lewisham St Mary Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Blackheath
County Kent
Poor Law Union Lewisham PLU
Registration District Lewisham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558; Separate registers exist for Sydenham beginning 1832
Bishop's Transcripts: 1745: Separate records exist for Sydenham beginning 1832
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester; Post-1844 - Court of the Bishop of London (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

LEWISHAM (St. Mary), a parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Blackheath, lathe of Sutton-at-Hone, W. division of Kent, 6½ miles (S. E.) from London, on the road to Tonbridge.[1]


Lewisham is a district and London Borough Lewisham Wikipedia Lewisham grew from settlement around the Parish Church of St Mary

Lewisham St Mary was an Ancient Parish in the county of Kent.Other places in the parish include: Sydenham, Southend, Cockshed, and Rushey Green.

Lewisham North West Kent Family History Society details the Anglican parishes which developed in the Borough and includes other places of worship. The pages also includes a map of ecclesiastical parish boundaries in 1903. See also St Mary the Virgin, Lewisham High Street

From this parish developed

Lewisham St Mark Clarendon Rise

Lewisham St Stephen High Street

and numerous parishes in Southend, Sydenham, Forest Hill, Catford, Brockley, Crofton Park, Bellingham, Hither Green, Honor Oak Park,  Bellingham and Blackheath

Blackheath All Saints

Hither Green North West Kent Family History Society  Hither Green St Swithun see Hither Green Wikipedia

Honor Oak Park North West Kent Family History Society Honor Oak Park St Augustine see also Honor Oak Wikipedia

Sydenham North West Kent Family History Society Southend North West Kent Family History Society

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Lewisham St Mary, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Ancestry - (£)[2][3][4][5]
BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[6]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[7]
FREG = FreeREG - free[8]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[9]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[10]
LBUR = London Burials Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[11]
Lewisham St Mary, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1703-1812 1703-1812 1703-1754 1703-1754 1703-1812 1703-1812
AC 1813-1906 1813-1906 1755-1921 1755-1921 1813-1922 1813-1922
BIVRI 1744-1752
1744-1752

BOYD
1691-1752

FREG 1703-1768, 1782-1797, 1812-1828
1703-1740, 1812-1814, 1826-1828
1703-1794, 1802-1809, 1812-1814, 1819-1826
FS BTs 1744-1752 1744-1752 1744-1752
IGI 1744-1752, 1801-1837
LBUR 1626-1749

IGI Batch Numbers

Census records

Census Returns for Lewisham 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Lewisham Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 74-78. Date accessed: 19 August 2013.
  2. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as St Mary, Lewisham in Lewisham Borough. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  3. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as Lewisham St Mary in Lewisham Borough. Partially indexed.
  4. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as Lewisham St Mary in Lewisham Borough. Partially indexed.
  5. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as Lewisham St Mary in Lewisham Borough and Lewisham in Lewisham Borough. Partially indexed.
  6. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  7. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  8. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  9. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  10. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 18 November 2013.
  11. "Boyd's London Burials Index - places and counts," Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes adult male burials only.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 June 2014, at 19:43.
  • This page has been accessed 3,188 times.