Lezant, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Cornwall Gotoarrow.png  Cornwall Parishes

Guide to Lezant, Cornwall family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Lezant, Cornwall
Lezant Church -.jpg
Lezant Church
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Launceston PLU
Registration District Launceston
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: 1608
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery East
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Peculiar of the Court of the Bishop of Exeter (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

LEZANT (St. Breock), a parish, in the union of Launceston, N. division of the hundred of East, E. division of Cornwall, 4½ miles (S. by E.) from Launceston. Here is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Lezant  (Cornish: Lannsans) St Briochus is an Ancient Parish in the county of Cornwall.Other places in the parish include: Rezare, Trebollet, Trebullett, Trekenna, Trewarlet, and Trewarlett

Lezant parish church is dedicated to St Michael and was considerably restored in 1869. There was formerly an ancient chapel at Trecarrel (or Trecarrell)  dedicated to St Mary Magdalene but it no longer exists.


Resources

Civil Registration


Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.


Church records

Lezant, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[4][5][6]
FREG = FreeREG - free[7]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[8]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[9]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[10]
Lezant, Cornwall Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1539-1812

COPC 1539-1902
1539-1910
1539-1902
FMP 1539-1837 1539-1837 1700-1837
FREG 1709-1845
1539-1812, 1837-1906

IGI 1539-1812
PALL
1790-1812

TGEN 1709-1845
1539-1812

Images of parish registers are available online in historic records (formerly Record Search) Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 124

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish http://www.cornwall-opc.org/Par_new/l_m/lezant.php

The history, registers and much more have been contributed by the Online Parish clerk for Lezant.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241258.


Cornwall Online Census Project

Poor Law Unions

Launceston Poor Law Union

Probate records


Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 78-85. Date accessed: 06 March 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  4. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  5. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  6. 'Cornwall Burials', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  7. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  8. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 November 2013.
  9. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  10. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 20 May 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 May 2014, at 22:40.
  • This page has been accessed 1,126 times.